I did it…

I just love that I can make decisions without asking permission or trying to justify what I want to do and have it shot down 90% of the time.

Friday morning – I took the day off to spend time with Zoe after she was away for the whole week.  I was sitting in front of my computer working and she was on the couch watching TV.

My mom and brother and his kids are all in Durban.  And he sends me a photo of the beach and the ocean.  And there and then I decide we are driving down.  I ask Zoe and she immediately jumps up and starts packing.  I phone my mom and she organises a dog sitter and within 45 minutes we were on the road.

And what an amazing weekend.  I had to juggle quite a few things, car services, birthday parties, Zoe’s orthodontist appointment but for once I did something completely impulsive and it worked out well.

We drove back on Monday morning.  I told the work I got lost and ended up in Durban and will see them on Tuesday.  And it was accepted and admired and applauded because they all agree that I need to do stuff like this.

And then we went to a Nataniel show last night in Pretoria – to say that Zoe and myself is slightly tired may be an understatement – but how wonderful to life live to the fullest.

Today I’m back at work and I better put my head down and catch up on work.

And in the background the quiet rhythm of a precious friendship forming….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I did it…

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Wow, I love it. Sounds fantastic, just to get away from it all without the hectic planning (and approval)
    I’ve always wanted to see Nataniel. He looks like such a fabulous live entertainer.
    Here’s to new friendships !

  2. Deblet says:

    Awesome spur of the moment idea well done

  3. MamaCat says:

    Lovely. It is so great that you can do this fun stuff.

Leave a Reply

