Love

I’ve taken this from a friend’s facebook page with her permission – it is quotes from Henri Nouwen:

Often we speak about love as if it is a feeling. But if we wait for a feeling of love before loving, we may never learn to love well. The feeling of love is beautiful and life-giving, but our loving cannot be based in that feeling. To love is to think, speak, and act according to the spiritual knowledge that we are infinitely loved by God and called to make that love visible in this world.

Mostly we know what the loving thing to do is. When we “do” love, even if others are not able to respond with love, we will discover that our feelings catch up with our acts.

 

And also:

“How can we choose love when we have experienced so little of it? We choose love by taking small steps of love every time there is an opportunity. A smile, a handshake, a word of encouragement, a phone call, a card, an embrace, a kind greeting, a gesture of support, a moment of attention, a helping hand, a present, a financial contribution, a visit … all these are little steps toward love.

Each step is like a candle burning in the night. It does not take the darkness away, but it guides us through the darkness. When we look back after many small steps of love, we will discover that we have made a long and beautiful journey.”

 

And the further I walk down my new path in life the more I realise that this is what I want to do / create / live by / preach  – whatever you want to call it.

I want to surround myself with love – and I want to give out love and live love.

It may not be a very ambitious goal for my life but why should goals mostly have a monetary value to it? Why is it that people always focus on academic achievements or possessions when they talk about their futures and their goals?

And then a quick update – Zoe was with her dad from Thursday evening – I once again planned to have a weekend completely full with activities and things to do.  Went out for a run on Friday morning – yes I know way way too soon after Comrades and it was freezing cold with a nasty wind.  Got home and my body just said enough – it crashed and I was basically man down for the whole weekend with a serious cold / sinus infection.  I still tried my best on Friday to do things but by Saturday morning I was so sick that I couldn’t even do the most basic yoga poses – yes I was sick and I still went to yoga.

And I really really enjoyed my time alone at my house – on the couch, music on, reading, puttering around doing little things.  So much so that I was asked on a date on Saturday night and I declined!!!  I don’t quite know if that was a good thing or a bad thing but a first date watching rugby – hmmmmm – doesn’t bode well because I really don’t like rugby.

I have to do a questionnaire for the course I’m taking in August – I’m really struggling with the answers because I have to dig very deep.

However I think one answer is now clear:  The question is:  What is the story of your life if written in a book  – I think that my answer should be:  Love, laugh, run.  What do you think?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Love

  1. halberts2014 says:

    We feel this thing called “love” whenever we go to the animal shelter. Those dogs look at you unconditionally and although we only go once a week you can see they know who you are and that look, you know “that look” that dogs give you when you just know what “love” is.
    Hmm, a rugby date? Not for me thanks.
    Ugh on being sickies. Hope you are feeling better know.
    Dig deep and be honest on your questionnaire. Don’t write what you think people want to read.
    Have a fab week.

  2. charliesbird says:

    DoctorCB here – stop it immediately! Let your body recover, otherwise you will be sick way too long! And stop going to classes when you are sick! How many germs will you spread? 😉 Be a good girl, into bed!

  3. charliesbird says:

    By the by, love your goals – aiming to be surrounded by love – giving it and receiving it – awesome!

  4. Deblet says:

    Ai please slow down and get better.
    Love everyone your book title. Ur love ideas are great. Hubbie keeps reminding me that we are all responsible for our own happiness and I think it’s the same for love, doesn’t have to just be a relationship but can be so much more. So here’s to love in all its forms

Leave a Reply

