Helen Mirren

This lady does have some interesting things to say:

I got this from this website:  http://samantha-wilson.com/2016/10/helen-mirren-10-quotes-remind-grow-wilder/

But I’ve copied it as well and I’ve put my thoughts in brackets afterwards – I don’t agree with everything but maybe we should look at the bigger picture – she is still very much alive and kicking at 70 years old.

1. At 70 years old, if I could give my younger self one piece of advice, it would be to use the words “fuck off” much more frequently.      (I say fuck A LOT but you should always keep in mind that it is offensive to some people so use sparingly – FUCK OFF – well there is only one person that I want to say that to 🙂

2. I still have a Gypsy sense of adventure. I don’t think I have slept in the same bed for more than three or four months my whole life. I am always planting vegetables that I never get to eat and flowers that I never see flower. I have always moved around the world.  (Hmmm – I kinda like my own bed – I don’t really know how you manage new beds every 3 months – you’ll have to rely a lot on people and their kindness to get that right.)

3. The whole thing of clothes is insane. You can spend a dollar on a jacket in a thrift store. And you can spend a thousand dollars on a jacket in a shop. And if you saw those two jackets walking down the street, you probably wouldn’t know which was which. (This I completely agree with – spending a lot of money on clothes is criminal – except shoes – shoes need to be good quality – you only have one pair of feet)

4. Women have got to stop being polite. If I ever had children, which I don’t, the first thing I’d teach a girl of mine is the words “fuck off”.  ( ahhh that syndrome – how I’ll raise my kids – and then you have kids.  Polite shows respect and it is important.  Rather teach your child to stand up and speak up in an amazing vocabulary to dazzle and confuse)

5. The hardest period in life is one’s twenties. It’s a shame because you’re your most gorgeous, and you’re physically in peak condition. But it’s actually when you’re most insecure and full of self-doubt. When you don’t know what’s going to happen, it’s frightening.  ( YES YES YES)

6. I’m a get-a-dress-at-the-thrift-shop-but-open-a-bottle-of-champagne kind of person.” ( cheap clothes – not so much champagne but amazing memory filled experiences)

7. I think every woman in our culture is a feminist. They may refuse to articulate it, but if you were to take any woman back 40 years and say, ‘Is this a world you want to live in?’ They would say, ‘No.’”  ( I  have to agree)

8. The weird thing is, you get more comfortable in yourself, even as time is giving you less reason for it. When you’re young and beautiful, you’re paranoid and miserable. I think one of the great advantages of getting older is that you let go of certain things. (YES YES YES)

9. Your 40s are good. Your 50s are great. Your 60s are fab. And 70 is fucking awesome. ( I really hope so – up to now – my 40’s has been interesting…)

10. All my life I’ve been looking at 16-year-old girls selling beauty, so I think it’s fabulous that they’re using a 70-year-old woman to sell products to other 60 to 80-year-old women. (16 year old girls can’t selling beauty products – those young skins can’t be replicated later on.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helen Mirren

  1. halberts2014 says:

    I still remember hiding my teenage figure under big t-shirts and really, there was nothing to hide except the lack of boobs.
    I too love my bed…………perhaps a bit too much 😉
    I don’t drop the F-bomb too often, only at work. At home I’m more inclined to say sh*t but I try to control myself. Fortunately Liam doesn’t swear. He does like to come home and tell us of his friends that do.

  2. MamaCat says:

    Nice read this. Thanks for the post. I never say the F word (because I knew my parents would kill me and now that I am older, it never crosses my mind).
    I so agree about twenties…And I loved loved loved turning 30 because I knew that now I was properly grown up and no one would doubt me (except myself).
    I love my bed and my garden…I love seeing fruit and flowers in my plants, I feel like I did something good.

Leave a Reply

