Friendship

E has been my saving grace – in her quiet unassuming way she has been supporting me since last year July.  Yes she used to run but then disappeared for a few years due to injury and she just quietly rocked up last year and started running again.

And she has been a rock.  If not for her, I don’t think I would’ve pushed through with the running but she made sure we make appointments to run almost 5 days a week and I had no choice but to run.

Last night my brother said something – not really horrible or mean but it felt like a fist in the solar plexus and I just started to cry.  In tears I drove to meeting place from where E and myself was to start our evening run.  I got out of the car and she just ran and enveloped me in a giant hug – she couldn’t really see me because it was already dusk but she just knew something was seriously wrong.

So there we were – pitch black because the electricity was off and we ran – only 5km’s but enough time to slay the dragon and for her to listen.  And then we went for a beer, only one but the world was a better place again.

I’m really starting to hit a serious low – I think the adrenaline I’ve been operating on for the past 8 months has started to abate because I’ve moved and the other house has been sold.  I was expecting it but not within a week of moving – I thought I’ll be able to contain it until after Comrades.  But as with everything else….

I’ll just face it head-on and battle my way through…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friendship

  1. halberts2014 says:

    What happened to the positive posts? So sad you are feeling down.
    Just look around you and see how far you come and how successfully you have kept your sh*t together.
    ((HUG))

  2. Nats says:

    Give yourself time to feel these feelings, but don’t allow it to overwhelm you, you are doing an amazing job, you are allowed to fall of the wagon now and then, as long as you get back up on there and keep going xx

  3. charliesbird says:

    You’re amazing, strong and indestructible! The last few months have been tough, and you’ve done it! And you’re no longer just RM – runner mum, you’re RM – running machine! Thankfully you do have cheerleaders, and you will overcome this next challenging time!

  4. MamaCat says:

    It is so good to know you have brilliant friends who are there to support you and make sure the low times are not so low. Soldier on RM, you are a strong woman.

  5. Deblet says:

    Big hugs S…..
    going to take time to process everything .Glad you have friends to comfort you.

Leave a Reply

