This independent streak

I don’t ask for help – I would rather break my back than ask.  There is a back story to why I don’t ask but I’m not going to go into that today.

My one very dear friend is always going on about this and that I should stop trying to do everything myself and that people want to help etc etc.

My kitchen light stopped working last week.  I tried to change the florescent globe but between being too short and never having to do it before the project was doomed.

So on Friday afternoon when I drove home I saw somebody that looks like a builder next to the road.  I stopped and asked him if he builds in our complex – his answer was yes and I asked him to help me with my light.  He said he is too old but will send the complex handyman over.

Handyman popped in and we started to chat.  I told him about the chest of drawers I bought and that I can’t get the knobs onto the drawers.  He offered to quickly do it for me, I protested because those drawers are full of underwear.  He just chuckled and assured me that he has seen everything any woman can wear.

So he quickly put my knobs onto my drawers.  Obviously I had to send my mom a message saying I have a man scratching around in my panties!! 🙂  Poor woman almost had a heart attack.

And he has now offered to help me with all the type of niggly things that I just can’t do.

Hooray for the handyman!!! And hooray for me – putting my independence in my pocket and asking for help.

And just on a quick side note – the non runners may not understand.  I ran a 15km race yesterday – last year my time was 1:29 – this year 1:18!!!  That is an eleven minute improvement on 15km’s!  I have to admit that I’m so stiff today that I can barely walk but hey that is another personal best!!!  So so happy about it…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This independent streak

  1. halberts2014 says:

    LOL – “He put knobs on my drawers” Sounds a bit dirty, LOL
    You see, plenty of people to help. They don’t know if you don’t ask. You must play on the “poor lonely blonde” a bit more, hehe. Just be careful though, you never know who you are letting in. Oh, paranoid much Helen
    As a “non-runner” I have no idea but an improvement is an improvement, whether you run or not. Well done on this. And for heavens sake don’t say “A man fiddled with my drawers yesterday and now I can’t run”
    Oh, sorry for the dirty talk, I’ll pull my mind from the gutter now
    Have a blessed day.
    PS. Love the happy posts. I WILL be seeing more of them

    • runnermum says:

      HHAHAHAH – I noticed the knobs one but thought it is only my dirty mind… So glad it’s not only me.
      Don’t worry – the guys is legit – really working for people I know.
      Drawers, panties, knobs – ohh dear… Is this a happy post or a naughty post?

      • halberts2014 says:

        😀 Nah, I think we are just too honest to say we don’t think that way. I blame it on the manufacturing industry. If you don’t think like that then you have no clue what the guys are saying

    • MamaCat says:

      Oh my word, you took this innocent post to another level! Lol, but gives me a good laugh.

  2. charliesbird says:

    You’re a smooth running machine! One day I will run as fast as you do!

  3. Nats says:

    Knobs on your drawers…ja….wonder if “hooray for handymen” is approriate right now…specially after they scratched around in your panties 😉 LOL!!!!

  4. MamaCat says:

    RM, you learn new things everyday, and asking for help is one of those things too.

  5. Deblet says:

    Yah for the handyman always great to have a good helper on call.

Leave a Reply

