I did it..

So the holy grail of being a “proper” runner is to break the 2 hour barrier on a 21.1km.  I’ve been running for about 9 years and I could never ever do it.

My best time ever was 2 hours and 1 minute.  So heartbreaking because those 60 seconds feels like a lifetime.

Well Tuesday evening I went out for a run and I felt good and I ran at a pace that will put me up for a sub 2 hour half marathon.  But I only ran 7km’s – that is only a third of the distance.

Anyway come Sunday morning – I picked up Crazy Andy – my running husband and we set of to a race.  I was still playing with the idea of trying to run at a 5 minute 40 second pace to achieve my sub 2 hour time but I didn’t tell him at all.

However after the 1km, I decided to cancel my plans – the first kilometer took us almost 7 minutes due to congestion and to make up that lost time is really hard.

And we just started to fly – chirping the people on the road, chirping each other as we always do and before I knew it we were at 10km’s and I’ve smashed my personal best on that.  Then 15km’s and I smashed my personal best on that.

And then I got fixated on my watch and my averages and asking if I can do 6 km’s in the required time.  Crazy Andy told me to stop looking at my watch and he will guide me.  By this time he was as hyped as I was – he knows that it’s been a dream of mine to break 2 hours.  So I wrap my buff around my watch and ran “blind”  – I would slow down when Andy told me to and I would speed up when Andy tells me to.

And I smashed it – I ran a 1:57 on a half marathon.  Andy is not a very touch feely guy but he grabbed me when we finished and he just hugged and hugged and hugged me and I was laughing with tears streaming down my face!  What a morning – what a confirmation that I’m going to be ok.

Especially after having a very rough Thursday (wedding anniversary) and Friday – just feeling so sad and blue.

So today I’m so so sore – even my ceasar scar hurts but I’m fine and I’ve achieved something I’ve been dreaming about for a very long time.  I’m full of hope again…

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I did it..

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Yay on having a buddy to run along side you, pushing you one. And not just in the running sense of things.
    Good on you

  2. charliesbird says:

    I am so damn chuffed for you! I know how elusive that sub 2 hour goal is – I’ve got it on my horizon for next year – please!!! And as you said, what an incredible validation of your resilience. You are going to be way more than ok! Well, well, well done! Can I hear a “Hoohaa!”?

  3. catjuggles says:

    Oh wow! Well done! You will be just fine.

  4. Deblet says:

    Wow wee that is fantastic congratulations such a mile stone to break the 2 hour.
    Sorry u had a rough time with anniversary last week…lots of love and hugs.

  5. MamaCat says:

    I am so happy for you. You are strong!

Leave a Reply

