That light at the end of the tunnel

So in the past 10 weeks the light at the end of the tunnel looked more like an incoming train than the end of the tunnel.  But now finally, it does seem although it may actually be the sun and not the train.

I know there will still be a lot of days where I’m down on the ground and will have to find the courage and strength to bop back up but I know I have it in me.  Yesterday I had a major setback and until about a week ago I would’ve crumbled and cried, I didn’t even bop – I just weaved and got things right but sheer force.

I can really say that I’m exceptionally proud of myself BUT without the help of friends, my mom and brother, and all the experts that is giving their advice for free, and the unwavering knowledge that God is carrying me in this whole story, it may have been a totally different story.

I had a chuckle this morning – I can remember somewhere very early in this year I wrote a blog about being mindful and less wasteful and stop having too much of everything.  Goodness, prophetic words – no husband, smaller car, now smaller house, less furniture, less money, less, less, less BUT the only thing there is still an abundance of:  Love, Hope and the amazing Grace from God.

Not to mention my running buddies – Sunday we had a run and I just couldn’t run – I was as weak as a kitten and one of the guys stuck with me until the end.  And then send me a message afterwards that he is going to start to check in with me everyday because I’m so weak because of the drastic weight-loss and he is going to remind me to eat every day and every meal of the day.  The weight loss is a bit of a problem – I’ve now lost 10% of my body weight – not much if you have a weight problem but I wasn’t really fat to start off with so it is a lot.

And then my 4 day trail in the Karoo is starting on Thursday – I’m so so excited – to be out and run for 4 days in nature and be stripped from everything but the bare essentials and not to mention that I’m finally going to meet Charlies Bird!!

So I’m still here and I’m OK.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to That light at the end of the tunnel

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Less is more they say. I knew you had the fight in you. You have a fabulous support system, that really counts in your favour. You are not alone. How is Zoe taking things? Nothing wrong with a small car. Oulik, what is it?
    Yay on meeting Charlie’s Bird.

    • runnermum says:

      Zoe is fine – I’m still keeping an eagle eye on her but her marks at school is still good and she seems happy.

      I bought a Ford Ecosport – lovely little car and so light on diesel it’s not even funny.

      • halberts2014 says:

        Zoe must be a fighter, like you.
        Love the Ecosports, they look so nice. Our neighbours have on. Very smart. Diesels are fab, gone are the days where a diesel car was as slow as a donkey and cart

  2. charliesbird says:

    Woohoo for meeting the people in my computer! Looking forward to it!

  3. catjuggles says:

    SO glad you are doing better – all the best for the race and have fun!

  4. Deblet says:

    You are an amazing lady stronger than you would ever have imagined.
    Lovely that you have your army of support behind you all when way.
    Lots of love

Leave a Reply

