Roller coaster day

So yesterday may have been the worst day yet.

So I put my running shoes on and I ran the stairs at our local stadium until I literally couldn’t stand because my legs were shaking so much.

But I was still feeling horrendous and then I had to go to a social at the running club…

Let me first give you a bit of background – remember the Reiger park kids and how we are supporting them?  Well those kids achieved so so much in the current cross country season.  Of the 62 athletes chosen for the Central Gauteng Athletics team to go and compete in George this weekend, 6 of our Reigerpark kids were chosen.  I was so proud and so happy for them.  These kids have risen so far above their circumstances.

So last night was the club function to celebrate and wish them luck.  I knew I had to go but I was trying to make excuses, I tired, my legs are wobbly, I stink, I’m not dressed properly but in the end my sense of duty won and I went.

And would you believe it – the amount of thanks I got from these people for everything I do and my help and support.  I got a medal because I’m their champ and a box of chocolates because I’m like their mom.  I was moved beyond words.

And like my mom said to me afterward – “you see – you are actually a much better person that what you think and people notice it and appreciate it”

So Reigerpark team – thank you from the bottom of my heart – you really really lifted my spirit last night and the glass of champagne did help as well 🙂

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roller coaster day

  1. halberts2014 says:

    I’m just going to say what Mum said
    “you see – you are actually a much better person that what you think and people notice it and appreciate it”

  2. catjuggles says:

    Oh wow, how beautiful! And perfect timing

  3. charliesbird says:

    In our darkest hour, a hint of a sunrise on the horizon; a promise of better days…

  4. Deblet says:

    Wow so cool.So glad you went despite how you felt

Leave a Reply

