Exploring Johannesburg

I know we don’t have mountains and oceans and forests but Johannesburg must have something to do over weekends and I have now made it my mission to start exploring the city and to find the small little places away from the big malls and off the beaten track.

Last week I wrote about Big Red Barn and all the great things you can do there.

This weekend I decided that we are going to extend my Mom’s birthday celebrations and I took her and a friend to a little Patisserie in Wynberg, Sandton.

So Cafe Patisse delivers tiny little pastries to a number of hotels around the Johannesburg area.  On Saturdays and Sundays they open to the public and you can sit down, have coffee and enjoy some of their tiny little cakes.  The chef – Martin – had a dream where you can choose more than one thing to eat and therefore everything is about 2 bite sizes big.  I have never tasted such amazing cakes.

Martin’s friend and fellow chef is from India and we chatted to him during our whole visit – what an interesting man with such passion.  I think it made the whole experience even better.  We were in this tiny little shop for more than two hours.

So what did we have?

We thought it would be wise to start with something savoury – so we each had a miniture quiche – one with feta and spinach and one with chicken and peppadews, sorry no photos of that – I can however say that the pastry base was amazing.

And then we tucked into a plate full of sweet delights.  On this plate there were the following:  cheesecake, pistachio Mozart cake, lemon meringue with Italian meringue, pecan nut tart, and two eclairs – I can’t remember what was in there.  And then to top it off the Indian baker brought us a little treat he has been working on – it is basically chocolate ice-cream at room temperature on a cookie base – there was no time to take a photo of that because that was most definitely the favourite and disappeared immediately.

Zoe had a pink eclair, a red velvet Mozart cake and a lemon meringue.

So after this indulgence we were a bit sweet and overly full and went to Sandton city for a bit of shopping.

This is now long enough – I must load salaries, so tomorrow I’ll tell you about the cronuts.

 

And then just as a side note – each of these little cakes are only R10!!!!

Ohh and remember I bragged last week about never getting sick?  Hahahaha – famous last words – I have a terrible terrible head cold and I’m feeling very sorry for myself.

Stay warm in Gauteng – the weather is awful!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exploring Johannesburg

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Oooh, now I feel like heading out to a coffee shop or bakery. We’ve discovered a lovely bakery in PE, only thing is that it takes us 15 minutes to get there from work.
    I dose myself with Corenza Para C when I feel a cold coming on. Two days later and it’s like it wasn’t even there.
    Get well soon

  2. Deblet says:

    Wow what a lovely outing. Cakes look deliciois.
    Feel better soon

  3. MamaCat says:

    Exploring is a good idea. We had decided to do the same here in PTA. So far we have done the zoo and the museum…and both were fun.
    Your sweeties look amazing.

Leave a Reply

