Nice, France

That photograph of the father sitting next to the covered body of his child is ripping me apart.  The grief and horror but I think more importantly the guilt – because how can a parent not protect his child in that situation – survivors guilt.

And then how can any person just drive through scores and scores of people without a pang of sympathy or guilt or empathy?  What type of person is that?  Is it drugs?  Can it really only be religion?

I’ve walked on that promenade, I felt the freedom of being in a city with a great climate and not having a moment’s doubt or fear.  One of my most treasured memories are of sitting on the harbour wall in Nice eating a blanco pizza and sharing a Coke with Hubby.  Will that sense of freedom and security ever be back in Nice and more importantly France?

How can a person drive over children?

And then the horror of the shootings and retaliation in America?

I just can’t make sense of our world at the moment…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nice, France

  1. catjuggles says:

    Me neither – and all of a sudden SA does not seem such a bad place to be

  2. halberts2014 says:

    I don’t think they are “people” There is no name for a creature like that. Apparently he suffered from depression. Anyone who murders other people or animals is…………………. I don’t know.
    I was chatting to my friend who is Scotland at the moment. She is a bit of a globetrotter and I asked if she doesn’t feel afraid travelling in Europe at the moment. You can be as careful as you like but you cannot protect yourself from maniacs like these.
    CatJuggles is right. SA isn’t such a bad place afterall

  3. MamaCat says:

    I also cannot think how people can do this to other people.

Leave a Reply

