I survived

I survived Sunday, I’m still in one piece and the whole world didn’t shift.  Ohh sorry – it was Comrades on Sunday and I couldn’t run.  Now for most people it was just another day but for me – for me it was this major hurdle to overcome without falling to pieces.

And I did it.  I was next to the road, I swallowed quite a few tears, a few escaped but I made it.

It was an interesting day to sit on the sidelines, knowing how those people feel and what is going on in their minds and bodies.

5:30 when they started was terrible and then once the people I run with normally came past I really struggled again.

But it is over – now I’m just avoiding Facebook until the hype and excitement is over and people stop posting.

And bring on 2017 – I’m not going to sit on the sidelines again.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I survived

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Hugs, RM, it must’ve been so hard to watch all those runners doing something you are so passionate about yet unable to do this year.
    Next year you’ll be on your game. You needed to rest this year so your body didn’t get more damaged.
    Hugs again

  2. Deblet says:

    Well done for still going and supporting all your friends.
    Roll on Comrades 2017❤

  3. charliesbird says:

    I had massive fomo, and I was just watching on TV! Tears streamed down my face watching my friend who I was supposed to run with crossed the line. It’s quite a thing, but I feel to scared to commit to anything for now. Been 10 days of no running, I’m going crazy!

  4. MamaCat says:

    Good on you for getting through it. Big hugs!

Leave a Reply

