Oops…

So since Charlie’s bird told us about the her multi day run in the Karoo, I’ve been thinking about it and dreaming about it.  Saturday after a brutal 32km – it is called The Sunrise Monster – I know why…  Somebody said to me that the entries for the Dryland Traverse are opening on the 11th.

Now please keep in mind that I haven’t discussed this with Hubby AT ALL.  I went on the website on Monday morning and I saw that you can register.  I thought I was registering on the website with our detail so if we decided to enter on the 11th it will be easier and quicker.

Not really reading the whole page, I entered all our details and next thing I receive an invoice!  We are confirmed entrants.  Oops!!

Now to just give you a bit of background – this is a 4 day trail running event.  It is in the Klein Karoo – on the first day you actually run in the Cango Caves – how amazing is that!?!?!?

But obviously to get there is a bit of a mission, plane tickets, car rental and because Hubby is claustrophobic – we have decided not to use the tented accommodation included in the price but to stay in a B&B.  So everything had to be booked and paid for THIS week.

Total unexpected cash outflow BUT we are both so excited about it. We both feel although we are only parents and workers at the moment – there is nothing left for US as a couple.  This is the absolute ideal – 4 days doing what we love as a couple.  The distance are also not THAT far – 77km’s over the 4 days so there will be plenty of time to relax and just be…

And then I just have to mention the Discovery Vitality program – I know they got a lot of bad press in the past few days with all the changes to the program but unfortunately people were abusing the system and therefore they had to plug the holes and some honest people are inconvenienced by it.  But to be on the program and actually reach your targets is so worth it in terms of the discounts.  Just on this trip alone we have saved close to R5,000 because of the travel savings – discount on plane tickets, accommodation and car rental.

OK I admit – it does take careful management to reach the highest status each year.  So I do spend a lot of time at the beginning of the year managing it and getting it under control but we are now in March and according to my planning we just have to do a few more runs or I need to get Hubby to go and do his medical tests and we are done for the year.

And it is weekend!!!  Have a good one!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oops…

  1. halberts2014 says:

    That run sounds so exciting.
    Like most things one has to carefully manage the medical aid. So many guys in our factory abuse it and ruin it for the rest of us. I only use our for prescriptions. Any over the counter stuff I pay for myself
    Good luck on the run.

  2. catjuggles says:

    That sounds so very exciting. I also feel like there is very little left of us as a couple

  3. charliesbird says:

    Woohoo! You are going to love it! It is an incredible journey! Enjoy the time out!

  4. Michelle P says:

    The race sounds very exciting …you and hubby can run 77km with your eyes closed and what great initiative to spend quality time together and such awesome memories. Can’t wait to read all about 🙂

  5. Deblet says:

    The run sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

