Conquered

I’m not going to bore you with all the detail but I went to Sasolburg, I ran a marathon and I qualified for Two Oceans.  My game plan was to go and run a 4:59 on the 42km’s.  Getting there I decided to run comfortably at my normal pace for the first 21km’s which will leave me with more time to finish the second half with numerous walks and rests.

Well my first 21 went exceptionally well and I decided to keep going until I’m tired.  And I only got tired with about 6km’s to go!  So I finished in a respectable time of 4:27.  Very happy – 32 minutes faster than I planned to do.

So I can relax now, I have a G seeding for Comrades and I’m sorted for Two Oceans.

Hubby didn’t have a good day at all – he injured his calf and only ran 5km’s before he had to stop so now he is under pressure.  Well he was until I phoned the Two Oceans marathon office this morning.  If you have done 5 Two Ocean’s you qualify automatically!  So the pressure is off.  Now it is just plain sailing for the next 48 days!

And then some other good news – finally after waiting since August for Zoe’s unabridged birth certificate they have given me the good news that the process is almost finalised.  So now we can go overseas if we want to.

And then on the angry thing – I purposefully isolate myself on Saturday morning – normally I would to talk to people and seek out people to listen to etc but on Saturday I just focused on my internal dialogue and hashing out everything that is bothering me and I can honestly say that I do feel better today.

Have a wonderful week!

One good run and I’m completely and utterly in love with running again!  I went out at 5 this morning for a run!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Conquered

  1. charliesbird says:

    Well done! I am starting to nip for my marathon in 2 weeks! I did a very tough 25km training run yesterday, and I am seriously nervous. I managed it, but the thought of another 17km makes me very scared! Let’s hope I survive it, and then we’ll see you in CT!

  2. Deblet says:

    Wow well done on a great run.
    Glad u cleared your head.

  3. MamaCat says:

    Happy to hear that you are feeling better and loving running again.

Leave a Reply

