Water crisis

So it seems although the water is now going the way of the electricity.  Big problem is that we need water way more than we need electricity.

So what to do?  I think the most important thing is to try and conserve water.  So we have decided to minimize the usage of our washing machine – maybe wear clothes more than half a day and rather hang it back in the cupboard than just dump it in the washing basket.  Don’t wash the bed linen and towels as often as I do.  More showers and less baths and maybe have less showers – all three of us bath / shower at least twice a day.

And then if the water runs out completely?  We are going to try and stockpile drinking water – we have a lot of containers that we use for the running when hosting an event so I’m going to fill all of that tonight.  And then at least we do have the swimming pool – only problem is that the pool is getting emptier by the minute because of the extreme heat and we are not allowed to fill the pools.  However I don’t think a 90,000 liter pool will empty too quickly. 🙂

What are your plans? Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Water crisis

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Apparently the dams in PE are overflowing, but that doesn’t mean we can waste water.
    I hear you on the clothes though. When I do washing it’s mostly the boys clothes. They don’t recycle. Easier for men to chuck it in the basket than to actually fold it up and put it away *sigh*. I do the bedding every 2 weeks and the towels weekly but I still have a crap load of washing to do over the weekends. I don’t know where it all comes from.
    I believe that covering your pool with a layer of bubble wrap or other similar plastic, will help evaporation? Our pool is so tiny though, but still good enough to flush the loos with
    I wonder about those big Jo-Jo tanks? Are they worth it?
    And then I get so cross when I see the African neighbours with their sprinkler system that comes on every morning and evening and most of the water just runs down the street. They also leave their outside lights burning all night. Perhaps they don’t pay for water & electricity.
    End of short blog 😉

    • runnermum says:

      The Jo-Jo tanks is a good idea – IF it rains! However we haven’t had any significant rain this year so that won’t work.

      Ai jai jai – it doesn’t help if some people try and save water and electricity and the rest just burns it up.

      What is it with washing? It does seem to grow and grow and grow and grow.

  2. We are relaying the shower and basin water as well as the washing machine water into the garden. Still a work in progress but at least we started

  3. My washing machine runs every day. I am going to have to also reconsider my washing habits. But son and I really wear our clothes and we sweat. A. Lot. Husband can recycle his clothes as his day is not as physical as ours but then he is more physical in erm… bed so what I gain clothes-wise with him, I lose in bedding! Hahaha oops TMI probably.

Leave a Reply

