Kgalagadi – part 1

How do you even begin to describe this magical, harsh, cruel, awe inspiring place?

The splendour of the sunrise, the sand, the heat, the colours, the animals?

I was extremely resistant to the idea of camping in the Kgalagai when Hubby first told me that he has booked a whole week there.  I did give in and gave my stamp of approval purely because I thought it may be a good idea to get the idea of this trip out of his system and to get Zoe to see a different part of the country.  And yes I was trying my best to be as positive as possible and to see it as a holiday to something similar to the Karoo arid park.

All I could imagine was spiders, scorpions and snakes.  OK no – I first had to go and ask Google where this Kgalagadi park was! J  And then he told me that there is absolutely no cellphone signal – so then I started to conjure up all these images of getting bitten by a snake and just dying because we can’t phone for help.  I’m not even going to discuss the images my mind conjured about what could happen to Zoe – nightmare stuff

I was so apprehensive before hand – we even bought a special flashlight that can pick up on the ultra violet colour on scorpions. The very first thing I packed was my gumboots – I was planning to wear it the whole holiday in case of snakes, spiders etc.  And obviously I rushed out to find a pair for Zoe as well.

The shopping trip to Dischem cost us a fortune because I bought medicine for every conceivable illness and danger.

The lists grew longer and longer as the departure date came closer and closer.  It got so bad that I actually convinced Hubby to buy another car because I was too scared to go in my car because it has quite high mileage and I didn’t want to get stuck with a broken car!  And then the worry about the car started so off we went – jerry cans for petrol, battery jump starter kit and compressor and a tow rope.

We left home on Thursday and went for a quick detour to see the Augrabies falls – not too spectacular but that is due to the extreme drought South Africa is experiencing at the moment.  On Saturday we stopped in Upington and proceeded to buy all of the merchandise at the Kalahari Mall – just in case.  J

Upington was a pleasant surprise – all the people are so friendly and relaxed and all in all a very neat little city in the desert.

And with my heart beating in my throat we left the last bastion of civilisation to drive the 250km’s to Kgalagadi.

Getting to the reception area, I looked around and still thought – this is it, a week of hell.  It did feel like hell – the temperature hovered around the 37 degrees Celsius mark.  And all I could think was, now I have to go and pitch the tent in this heat in my gum boots!

As we drove past the entrance gates I really thought that this is the end of my life as I know it and I was right but not in the sense that I expected it to end.

And that is one page in a word document – work is calling so I’ll continue tomorrow…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kgalagadi – part 1

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Aww man, work can wait, hehe

  2. charliesbird says:

    you’ve got us on tenterhooks here!

  3. catjuggles says:

    I can not wait to see all the wonderful stuff….. I know that place has a magic second to none

  4. MamaCat says:

    This is so well written RM. Like a proper travel diary with all the suspense and description in. Waiting for the next installment.

Leave a Reply

