Sucker!

As I got in my car yesterday after work I got the following phone call from an unknown cellphone. It is not word by word by the gist of it.

Me: Hello?
Other person: Hello my name is blahblah and my sons are with Zoe in the class.
Me: Yes?
Other person: It is their teacher’s birthday sometime this week and I think we should have a birthday party for her
Me: OK, that sounds like a good idea, I’ll find out what the exact date is.
Other person: Thanks and then we can get balloons, and a gift and a cake and some sweets for the class.
Me: OK?
Other person: OK great! I’ll make sure there are balloons in the class, if you can organise the rest! Bye!
Me: Gaping in wonderment at the dead phone. How the hell did that just happened?

So I’m driving to school to pick Zoe up and I’m just amazed at the skill of this woman to manipulate me into organising a whole party for the teacher. Since when do teachers get parties anyway?

So I got to the school, asked two other Grade 2 moms if their kids are in Zoe’s class. I then said that a mom asked me to organise the party and one of the other moms started to laugh and asked if it was the boys’ mother. And I said yes and they all started to laugh because it is not the first time that she has manipulated somebody else to do the work and then she gets all the glory.

Well obviously this mommy has never met me. So I got a list with names and numbers of all the parents in Zoe’s class. I SMSed is to her with a note saying that I’ll help with a cash contribution but I actually have a job and I don’t have time to organise it.

Goodness I think she was livid – she ignored my SMS for at least 14 hours and then I just got a message back this morning – OK – the party will be in the class and she’ll bring cake. Well now my cash offer is off the table and she can do the whole thing by herself.

Me thinks, I may have made a wee bit of an enemy. But hey I don’t care! And that is one of the disadvantages of working half day – people see you at school and just assume you don’t work at all and you can do all the work and support!

Two assessments for Zoe next week already – English and Maths – already getting heart palpitations just thinking about all the work to be done.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sucker!

  1. halberts2014 says:

    LOL 🙂 This sounds like something I would walk straight into also. But I agree, since when do teachers get parties. I just buy the teacher a small gift and that’s that.
    OMG, I hope I’m cut out for all this homework next year. Liam has already told me that he doesn’t want to go to Grade 12 and definately not to study afterwards. Like he knows what it’s all about 😉 I will have to control myself from not getting involved too much with his homework. I’m sure you’re the same, it must be done perfectly even it it means we have to do it ourselves.
    Byeeeeeeeeeee (so bored today, your blog was a bit of a Godsend?

    • runnermum says:

      It is almost impossible not to get involved! Do you know how many incorrect versions there are of the days of the week in English? No me neither but Zoe showed me. 🙂

      Not to mention the word “frikkadel”

      • halberts2014 says:

        Hehe, like there is our version, aka, the pre-1994 version and theirs, the post 1994 version.
        The other day someone called and was spelling something to me. I said “that’s fine thanks, I know how to spell it, I’m pre-1994” It was something daft like “water” or something
        Education sure is different

  2. catjuggles says:

    She is a piece of work! Great handling it your way

  3. charliesbird says:

    Argh! Hate it when that happens, sadly though I have an arm with a twitch problem, much to my husband’s horror, it goes up at the hint of a volunteer! But well done on the dodge!

Leave a Reply

