Self medicating and other stories

I sometimes wonder if being a house doctor is not one of the most boring jobs in the world. How many patients do you see in a day that suffer from allergies and sinus and how many times do you write out the same script.

What I find extremely frustrating and it does cost everybody involved an arm and a leg is when you know what is wrong with you but you have to get a script to get the medicine to sort out the problem.

3 cases that I can relate to:

1. Contraceptives – yes I know it is because you can be at risk for all other types of things BUT I’m well aware of my blood pressure, my weight etc etc. It started to be such a hassle that I’m now actually off contraceptives and we are playing with fire. πŸ˜‰

2. Antibiotics for sinus – no I don’t want a cortisone injection – just give me the damn pills for 10 days and I’ll be cured. This was so irritating after a while that I’ve googled alternative therapies for sinus and allergies and now I just pull coconut oil and it does go away eventually.

3. Candida!! Aaargggghhhh – none of the normal remedies worked and I’m going crazy. There is now time to get to the dr and to wait for an appointment is not an option when the itching is driving you mad!! Thank heavens a local pharmacist took pity on me and gave me the required pill without a script. I think he could see the rapid look in my eyes and he was too scared to say no. And then I told Hubby I went to the “vet” for a pill and as you can imagine he was in hysterics because you do take a rapid cat to the vet! Sorry that is a bit below the belt.

“Juggling act of life” spoke about the website where you can order photo’s and they deliver it to your door. Qphoto – and all I can say is that it is absolutely amazing. I order 100 photos for us last month and this month I had 100 photos delivered to mom in law in Cape Town. I just go an SMS from her and she is exceptionally happy – what great service.

And speaking of “Juggling act” – what a small world – we actually belonged to the same page about books on Facebook!!

And now I’m signing off on this decidedly racy post…. πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self medicating and other stories

  1. Deblet says:

    Oh I hear you on paying for a prescription I hate having to go to the Dr just for a prescription and then pay R### for a piece of paper.
    Glad you got the cat to the vet…he hee

  2. halberts2014 says:

    Took Liam to our GP for the same old sinus stuff. He sees so many patients with the same old crap, like you say, must be boring
    Erm……..good luck with the other stuff. I ain’t chucking my Pill away and I know nothing about Candida (lucky me πŸ˜‰ )

  3. Natasha says:

    We are lucky that our pharmacy sometimes give us stuff over the counter, not the heavy heavy stuff. Also my house dr knows me by now so he just sends a script by fax or send it directly to the pharmacy. We go Ackermans in Rietfontein road, Primrose.

Leave a Reply

