Be the change…

“Be the change you want to see in the world”

I have this at the bottom of my work email and today when I saw it, I really started to think about it.

I think we are all aware that we live in a very strange society in South Africa. Lawlessness, poverty, anger, crime etc etc. But then also the beauty and the cohesion between normal South Africans – the student teacher walking from Nelspruit to Pretoria in protest against Farm murders, the multiple blankets knitted by normal woman and displayed at the Union buildings to give to the poor. There are so many such wonderful stories that we don’t know about and that is the tiny light that can ignite more lights in this dark time.

Therefore my action plan from now on and the commitment I make to myself and to the readers of my blog.

1. Obeying all the laws of this country – if you don’t, you are a criminal – I know talking on your cellphone whilst driving is not as bad as rape or murder but still it is a crime and therefore I’m a criminal as well – speeding, cellphone etc etc.

2. Respect for everybody – I’m going to start in my house – I’m angry at my Domestic Goddess because my house is in a state but she is old, she doesn’t have the education neither the guidance when she was younger and she is doing the best she can. Respect for the car guard, the cashier in the shops. A kind word to these people won’t kill me and it may just make their day brighter.

3. Charity – I’m going to help who I can when I can, with as much as I can.

4. Educate and teach. Even if it is to show the tea lady how to make proper tea and how to serve it. Or the young engineer who doesn’t know how a fax machine works.

5. Don’t judge

6. Empathy

7. Believe that God has a plan – I must admit that I’m not praying as I should at the moment – it is more of a fight with God but I need to hold onto the believe that God is on our side.

Hopefully my shining little light will ignite a few more which will ignite a few more and before we know it may be a great big light.

We can’t change the politics or the politicians BUT we can change our mindset and hopefully by doing that we may change the mindset of the people around us which may lead to a country wide change.

Is that too lofty and ambitious? Can it really make a difference? Am I stupid to believe that small acts can grow?

Let the change begin in ME!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be the change…

  1. halberts2014 says:

    All good points, just don’t let down your guard. It’s all very well being friendly with everyone, but at the same time be aware. Just because someone smiles at you doesn’t mean they are a nice person.
    Saying that though, I do make a point of greeting everyone and smiling at everyone who looks at me. There is something in my heart that says they might need a smile today. I’m trying to teach the same to Liam. Smile and be polite and friendly. It costs nothing.
    PS. I don’t talk on my cell while driving. It can ring and ring, but I don’t answer it until I’ve stopped. I’m funny that way. I need all the concentration I have, hehe

    • runnermum says:

      Yes most definitely don’t be naive about the world we live in.
      Driving with a child in the car is distraction enough! Can’t cope with the phone as well!

  2. Deblet says:

    Great list.
    I love the “obeying the law”,I am a rule follower as are my girls and I really get annoyed when I see basic laws being broken….littering,cell phones while driving,no seat belts,etc.

  3. charliesbird says:

    Love this!

Leave a Reply

