Leaving ….

One of the few people that really get me is leaving the country…

I’ve been crying for her and her mom since last week Thursday when it was her mom’s 60th birthday party. They are still very upbeat about the whole situation BUT I know it is because they don’t know and they don’t realise. I’ve been there and done that for 6 years so I’m a veteran. OK things are a bit different now with the advancement of technology – when I was overseas we had landlines and emails.

I think this leaving the country is in our blood – most of us are obviously not from here – so somewhere in our personal history our forefathers packed up their families and belongings and jumped on a ship / plane or a ox drawn wagon to move from something or somebody or an ideology that they didn’t agree with. It was a choice for most South Africans not like Australia where the original settlers were send there in chains to be part of a penal colony.

But what I find so extremely sad is how families are splintering and how children are leaving their aging parents in South Africa. Even the people with multiple children are sometimes left behind with children in Canada, England, Australia and New Zeeland. Grandchildren growing up without the bond of an extended family and grandparents growing old without seeing their grandchildren. Not enjoying the day to day laughter and tears.

I just find it so sad. But I also accept it as part of life and part of our blood and DNA. However I do think if the government was different and the ideology of the original plans in 1994 were kept to, less people will leave and less families would be ripped apart.

I’m crying – not only for my dear friend but for all the families that are living this new reality every day…

And a news update – we are jumping the cliff of undecidedness and buying the car.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leaving ….

  1. halberts2014 says:

    I was born in the UK and have been here since 1980. I must say that not once since I’ve come here have I thought of going back to the UK. My mums parents followed us to SA shortly afterwards so I had that bond with my maternal grandparents, I still think of them often. However, my paternal grandmother died last week and I didn’t bat an eyelid. I didn’t know her. I don’t know that side of the family.
    Yes, I’m getting my passport, but just for the sake of having it and not for the sake of leaving. And perhaps to give Liam better opportunities should we have to “make a run for it”
    But really, would they be better opportunities? The grass is greener on the other side because it has more shit they say, haha.
    I’m staying put. For now. There are worse places to be than SA.
    Whoop whoop on the car. Hope you get a bargain

  2. catjuggles says:

    Oh I feel exactly like you do! The sad of leaving family and growing up without that is too much

  3. charliesbird says:

    Yay for the car! Enjoy it!

  4. MamaCat says:

    The car sounds like fun. Enjoy it. It is sad when families split, we can only hope technology catches up and we can visit easier.

Leave a Reply

