Strange weekend

I have a complete aversion to any type of medication, especially pain killers, maybe I’m lucky, that I don’t need it but I would rather have a headache than take a painkiller. Well this weekend I was exceptionally grateful that I had the option to take painkillers.

Saturday I planned to catch up on some much needed running, the plan was to run at least 15km’s and then to go to the yoga class at the gym. As I was getting ready, my stomach started to cramp but so badly that even my lower back was hurting and I couldn’t actually stand up straight. I still thought I’ll tough it out and go for the run but soon realised the error of my thinking and I cancelled my run. And I popped a Myprodol – ahh the bliss of the pain killer it took the pain away but I had to go back to sleep because it knocked me for a six.

So the rest of Saturday I was in a state because now I’m really in trouble with the training and I actually started to consider doing the 42km’s on Sunday instead of the 21km’s just to play catch up. Luckily sanity prevails because I’m running 73km’s this coming Saturday.

On Sunday morning we got up, started to get ready for the race in Vereeniging. Just please keep in mind that we left home at 4:30 so it is EARLY! Everybody was in the car when I realised that I need something from my car. I opened the garage door but only about half way, popped in, got the stuff out of my car and started to race back to the other car so we can leave. Except that the garage door wasn’t fully opened and I walked straight into the garage door. I only realised what happened when I was flat on my back with Jack licking my face and Hubby on his knees next to me asking me if I’m OK. And what was the only thought running through my head? “I’ve got to get up and go running, I can’t miss more km’s!” Then I felt for blood on my forehead, OK no blood – that is good. OK tailbone, elbow and wrist is hurting but I’m fine. Jumped up and we went to the run.

Whilst I was running my tailbone bothered me a little bit and my wrist was a bit sore and my elbow was bleeding but I though I could handle it. But as the day progressed everything just got worse and I popped another Myprodol. My face is a disaster, the skin on my nose is actually broken and quite bruised and I’ve got red ridges on my forehead – I suppose it will turn blue or purple sooner or later. My wrist is sore and has no strength in it and my elbow is bruised and swollen. Walking with a limp from the sore tailbone.

BUT I’ve got my 21m’s in the bag and at not a very bad time either.

But this has now made me think – as I do. Say I was walking at 7km’s an hour when I connected with the garagedoor and this is the damage, can you imagine just going at 50km’s an hour and having a car accident? Can you imagine the injuries and trauma – especially without a seat belt? No wonder Deblet’s poor BB looked so bad after her crash in a parking lot.

And I also realised that adrenaline is an amazing hormone. I obviously had a lot of adrenaline coursing through my veins right after the bang and then I went running which also releases adrenaline and that is why I didn’t feel a lot of pain during the run. But once I had an hour’s rest and a shower the pain started because the adrenaline was gone. How amazing is our bodies to protect us from pain and hurt so we can fight on or get away or get help first and the succumb to the pain.

So today I have an appointment with the doctor – it will be a triple appointment. Sort out my stomach cramps, get all my injuries checked out and I suppose while I’m there I can just as well have a smear – urrgghhh.

Hope your day is better!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Strange weekend

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Shows how we are all so different. I take painkillers when my headaches start turning into migraines. I can still walk around after taking 2 Myprodol. They do nothing for me. I have yet to find something that “knocks me for 6” other than those drugs they give you during childbirth (pethadine??)
    My legs get tired just reading of your running. I don’t even drive that far in a day!
    Sorry, but LOL at running into the garage door. We are fans of opening our half way. Must remember not to do that πŸ™‚
    Ja, that’s what I keep saying about these kids with no seatbelts. Just a sharp tap of the brakes will send them flying. You don’t even have to be going fast. I remember when my Mum was in an accident years ago, she was the only one wearing her seatbelt and she got hurt the worse. She had seatbelt bruising and they actually had to drain blood from her boob it was so bruised. DH and I have this fight a lot, because he doesn’t wear a seatbelt. Only when he drives my car but that is because Daisy (the car) screams if you don’t have a seatbelt on.
    Ugh, a smear. I have to make an appointment for that too because my Pill script has come to an end. Hate that, blegh. And then he makes small talk by asking where I work. Really??? While your all a fiddling down there. Gosh

    • runnermum says:

      Hubby is very happy about my “incident” because it proved to him that I have a very hard head! πŸ™‚

      I’m already starting to think that I may do the smear at another time! Chicken!

  2. charliesbird says:

    Sorry, I have to smile, sounds a bit like me!
    Glad you had the myprodol, I am also a big fan of arnica – 2 tabs under the tongue, helps with bruising and swelling!
    Good luck with the apt, remember, he’ll only remember what your girly bits look like if you have decorations!

    • runnermum says:

      Hey I forgot about the Arnica – I take it after Comrades – I actually have some in my running bag!

      Hmmm good to know that those girly bits aren’t that important to the doc! πŸ˜‰

  3. catjuggles says:

    Oh gosh, eina! I do hope there is no real damage.

  4. Deblet says:

    Flip what a weekend you had.Hope all your bumps,bruises and scrapes are better soon.Very impressed you ran with injuries and all…..hard core runner

  5. MamaCat says:

    All I can say is SUPERWOMAN!

Leave a Reply

