Just rambling along

The word that has been spinning around in my head: concatenate – I don’t even know if it is a real word – it is part of an Excel formula.

I’ve been so frustrated this past week – I’ve tried to do a specific formula on Excel and for the life of me I just couldn’t get it right. After a while I realised it will be faster to just do it manually. However it is still bugging me because it feels although I’m loosing my Excel skills because I don’t use it every day.

I’ve just finished I am Pilgrim, a book by Terry Hayes and all I can say is that it’s been one of the best books I’ve read in a good while. I finished it yesterday – and I just can’t start a new book – I’m still in Pilgrim’s mind and in the plot. I can see that this is one of those books that is going to stay with me for a while. Let’s talk about Kevin – Lionel Shriver – I read it about 9 years ago but I still think about it every now and again.

The weekend was good, we went to Badplaas where they have numerous hot water pools and supertubes. Not exactly the kind of place I would go to if I was alone but Zoe had an amazing time. She could barely walk because her legs were so tired. I found the culture of a Forever resort very very different from the Sanparks camping site that we normally go to. At Sanparks, the people have a massive respect for nature – everybody is quite and no TV’s or loud music can be heard – everybody enjoy the silence, the sound of animals and the greatness of the night sky. This Forever resort most definitely have a culture of partying, loud music and even louder voices. I don’t think it will surprise anybody that I prefer the Sanparks culture.

I’m always amazed at these type of family resort how many people smoke! Firstly when did they start, don’t they know how bad it is for them and secondly, where do they get the money for it – smoking is not cheap.

Waiting with abated breath for the budget speech tomorrow – I do think we are going to be quite a bit poorer after this – I think the middle class is going to be taxed into the ground to support the 16 million on social grants, not to mention paying for Nkandla, SAA and Eskom. And what about all the other corrupt people that doesn’t make it into the public eye.

Urrghhh had to eat bread this weekend – had about 7 slices and a bun over a period of 3 days and let me tell you – I’m still paying the price. My system is completely out of wack and I have such bad cramps. Definitely not worth the bread. Next time I’ll rather stay hungry!

Just want to say that I’ve decided not to post the blog about the ex-friend. She doesn’t deserve the space or the time or attention.

I want to post about the darker side of running – but I really need to work this out in my head completely before I do it – yes it’s not always just moonshine and roses.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just rambling along

  1. halberts2014 says:

    DH is very good at his look up formulas etc on Excel. I don’t have the need for it in what I do so I’m not really bothered.
    I was thinking the other day…..DH hasn’t smoked in more than a year, yay. But he’s still putting the money he would’ve spent on smokes in the safe. Not sure how much it is now. Perhaps we can go on holiday soon.
    Don’t listen to the budget speech. What is the point of working yourself up over something you can do nothing about?

  2. charliesbird says:

    Yay for a nice weekend! Yip, I’m also definitely a Sanparks kinda person too. Glad it was good, hope the week improves, and the computer stops giving you a hard time;-)

  3. catjuggles says:

    Oh we prefer the quieter places too but sometimes you can still have a good weekend at something quite different than your own choice. I am Pilgrim is in the bookclub – am awaiting my chance to read it. Am busy reading “What Milo saw” at the moment

  4. Deblet says:

    We used to go to Badplaas when we were very small kids, it always was like paradise for us…….lots of swimming and running around.
    Excel and formulas are not my forte….Hubbie is much better at it than I am.
    I haven’t read any good captivating books in a while.

Leave a Reply

