Colour run

Yesterday we sacrificed a half marathon to go and walk a 5km with the kids. It was one of the colour runs and I can honestly say we had so much fun! We were quite a group but I’ll only put photo’s on us because I don’t always know how other people feel about pictures of their kids on the internet.

I got a bit worried at one stage because Zoe’s hair was absolutely covered in the paint pigment and I did wonder how we’ll get it out and how we’ll get the cars clean. However it washed out beautifully and we were all clean again after a shower. I haven’t washed the t-shirts yet but it was all old stuff so if all the pigment doesn’t come out it won’t be too much of a worry.

I would definitely advise you guys to go if there is a colour run close to you. It is absolutely great fun and it does draw a more relaxed crowd than the normal races do so nobody will feel too slow or too fat or old. Our friend did the 10km’s and he is normally one of the last people to finish but yesterday he was actually quite well placed.

And then I was once again amazed how our minds work – on Saturday in the yoga class a young girl approached me and asked me if I run and can you believe it – I actually hesitated to say yes! Yes 5 Comrades’, 5 Two Oceans, numerous marathons and half marathons under my belt and when somebody ask me if I’m a runner, I still hesitate because in my mind I’m still not a runner but the nerdy teenager with her nose in a book and good results in school.

Speaking of books and yes completely of the topic – I started to read “I am a Pilgrim” and I’m completely and utterly hooked, what an amazing book.

And now I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves about the colour run.sb

hair

zb

pb

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Colour run

  1. Deblet says:

    Wow that looks like fun.

  2. charliesbird says:

    I have to agree, Colour run was so much fun here too! Thandi loved it! Although 5km was quite far for her little leggies. An awesome event! Glad you had fun!

  3. MamaCat says:

    This does look like so much fun.

Leave a Reply

