Birthday party

We had Zoe’s birthday party on Saturday – a jump and swim party. I baked the whole of Friday afternoon – my first time attempting a tiered cake covered with fondat, so as you can imagine I was quite nervous about this cake.

I do think the party was a resounding success, kids cried when their parents picked them up and they were so busy playing that most of the eats and drinks were left over.

So here are some photo’s

The table with all the eats, I made the tiered cake – vanilla with caramel condensed milk in betweem , red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese icing, caramel condensed milk and rice krispies and sugar cookies. The rest were just normal sweeties and chips.

Table

The cake after the hordes fed on it, my heart broke to see my hard work being destroyed like that

Cake after

The jumping castle – 5m’s high sliding into the swimming pool

Jumping castle

The patio with the Chinese lanterns and the draped fabric

Patio

The cake after Zoe decorated it

Cake z

The original cake after I decorated it – it was very hard to allow Zoe free reign on the cake after I finished but I realised that it is her cake and her party and I can’t allow my perfectionism to stand in the way of her joy in decorating her own cake

Cake S

And now thankfully it is over for another year and Zoe has ordered the exact same party for next year.

Have a wonderful week – I have training for 2 days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birthday party

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Looks like a lot of hard work and effort went into it.
    You and I are a lot alike. I can see I’m going to be an absolute nightmare when it comes to school projects. Everything just HAS to be perfect 🙂

    • runnermum says:

      Luckily I absolutely love doing these type of things. Let me tell you – I sometimes have to sit on my hands or leave the room not to take over and do things MY way but I know I have to give her free reign, but it’s not easy!

      • halberts2014 says:

        It sure is a lot of work though and I sometimes wonder if it isn’t actually cheaper to buy the stuff. Last year I made 60 and iced 60 cupcakes and packed 20 party packs. I did have a day off work though.
        I still have to learn to let go………..when will that happen.

  2. Lovely party and very pretty cake. We also had A’s party on Saturday and I also made my first tiered cake but she wanted cream cheese frosting so it was super easy. It’s hard to let them be – this time she wanted nothing more or different than I had but last year I had to let go. I guess at 10 she somehow got the “less is more” message.

    Its lots of hard work but we do enjoy it I guess

  3. Deblet says:

    Looks like a great party.Well done on the cake.I have had to force myself to let the girls do things for themselves….easier to back off than hover around them.

  4. charliesbird says:

    Stunning party, great slide and gorgeous cake! Well done, Mom!

  5. MamaCat says:

    Sounds like such a fun party. You are a supermom! The cake is really lovely.

  6. nusha78 says:

    Wow RM! That looks like an awesome party …. nicely done!
    Zoe did a great job with the cake 🙂 I also had to curb myself with our Christmas tree and let the kids have their way … they were so chuffed with their efforts!

Leave a Reply

