The flipside – South Africa – the positives

It is still a cheap country to live in comparison to European countries and Australia.

The ease to go and visit a game farm / game park and see all these amazing animals in their natural habitat.
Cape Town

Knysna and surrounds

The long December holidays with sun, sea and sand. Even staying at home still means the lazy days of summer.

Amazing cultures and how we learn something new from each other every day.

Like Helen said – the people working in our houses and gardens – other countries – you have to do it yourself.

The feeling of cohesion of the normal South Africans, regardless of colour or culture. I always refer to my running stories when I say this.

Freedom of religion

Mild winters and amazing summers

A Highveld thunder storm

The choice to have an outdoor live filled with outdoors activities

Drakensberg

Sunsets

Fynbos

Rooibos tea

Biltong and droewors

The black humour that allow us to make jokes about Oscar Pistorius etc.

Our ability to still laugh at ourselves and each other

The sense of belonging here

It is still home.

Our kids can still walk around barefoot – it is against the law in some countries.

Our kids can still be close to nature without too much trouble and cost

Space – gardens, houses, even flats with big communal areas.

Dare I say Julius Malema – I do know that some of the things he spouts raise fear in all our hearts but let’s face the facts – he is the only one that is calling the current government to task.

And so there it is. Do we stay or do we go – Hubby wants to stay and I want to go – however when I think about breaking my mom’s heart because we are taking Zoe from her and seeing Zoe grow up as a stranger and without her family and what about the dogs and all the other admin, I don’t know. I’ve been there and had to get the coat and the scarf and the train ticket – I don’t know if I have it in me to do it again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The flipside – South Africa – the positives

  1. halberts2014 says:

    *cheering* Stay, Stay, Stay
    🙂
    It aint all that bad

  2. charliesbird says:

    I hear you on the negatives, but I still think all the positives outweigh those things.
    I think part of what it takes to survive here is to become a little more self sufficient. We are in the process of designing our holiday house, which we are going to build in the mountains, nearby. We plan to be self sufficient with regards power and water. Therefore all those particular issues fall away.
    Yes, I am still a ‘victim’ of being previously privileged, and being scared by some changes I see. But when I have German friends who do anything and everything to stay in this crazy mixed up country of ours, even dealing with our crazy new laws on visas and work permits and passports, I know we are living somewhere very special.
    For me personally, the challenge isn’t about surviving here, it’s about being present and making a difference. I am invested in South Africa, I support local as far as I can, I am patriotic, excited, challenged and yes, sometimes afraid. But mostly I know I am surrounded by the most incredible people and landscapes.
    *climbs off my soapbox for the day

    • runnermum says:

      I’m so with you on all of that. We are also looking at alternatives to get off the grid with electricity and water. Strangely enough the place I work at in the afternoons build water plants and they actually have one for domestic use. I do think that the alternatives to government electricity and water is going to become cheaper and cheaper.

Leave a Reply

