This that and the other

Just a lot of random numbers and thoughts for today:

21 work days and I’m leave!
7 days of home work
20 work days and Zoe is done with Grade 1 – how did that happen
50 days to the end of the year
44 days to Christmas

Working at two jobs is quite interesting. I must say that I find the mental shift from one to the other quite challenging. It is funny the small things that can stop you in your tracks and make you think. At my morning job – a C is for creditors and at my afternoon job a C is for client – the complete opposite of each other and I have to pause and think every time.

I must say that I have realised once again how incredibly fortunate I am to work only half day and to be only 8km’s from home. This other job is only about 20km’s from home but to drive that during peak hour traffic through squatter camps and bad roads and traffic lights make for a harrowing trip.

I don’t mind the time spent at the second job and I don’t mind the work but what is really catching up with me is how much I miss Zoe – and I can see that she misses me a lot as well. Luckily it is only for November and then we can go back to our normal routine.

November is normally the month that I use to bake cookies for Christmas and to buy all the last minute Christmas present and to start the preparation for Zoe’s birthday in January – this month – I don’t quite know how I’m going to manage with all that because my days are all of a sudden 5 hours shorter!

Hubby didn’t enter Comrades for next year and he has left the running club that we have been with for the past 8 years. I must say that I really didn’t expect his decisions around running to upset my mojo for running so much but all of sudden all the weekends that we go away to run seems a bit selfish because now we have to spend money and I’m the only one running so I’m a bit demotivated and in a slump. Maybe I should just give up running and concentrate on yoga and pilates.

Sitting here worrying about Zoe – she didn’t want to put a jersey on this morning and it is actually quite cold now. I wonder if I should quickly slip out and take a jersey to school or will that be mollycoddling?

I can’t stop thinking about leaving South Africa and moving to the USA – I don’t know where this dream of living in Colorado came from but I just envy people that have the freedom to walk around and exercise with abandon and without fear. And the natural beauty that is not spoiled by garbage and dirt and decay. And to know that your government is actually just a little bit on your side.

Better do some work – have a great day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This that and the other

  1. Wow, the year is really speeding to the end! It’s a bit crazy. Good luck with all. And honestly do not feel selfish about the running – you are entitled to something for yourself too

  2. charliesbird says:

    Why not give yourself a break? As you say, your day shrank by 5 hours. Be kind to yourself, you’ve had a helluva year, and then review where you find yourself in December/January. And maybe set some smaller goals – maybe not Comrades next year, but a half that you haven’t done before? Yo might have just run yourself out this year!

    • runnermum says:

      I think you are right Charlie about too much running.

      Officially I’m off for the rest of November – I don’t have to run if I don’t want to. Maybe once we are on holiday and I’m surrounded by nature – Karoo national park, Storms River mouth and Wilderness the urge to run may return.

  3. I dunno if the government is ever really on anyone’s side…although you might want to come to Canada 😉 haha we’re nice here and as long as you don’t mind two feet of snow while exercising you’ll be right at home!

Leave a Reply

