Ridiculously chuffed with myself

I know I never reported back on my birthday weekend – things just went south after that and I never got to it.

It was an absolutely fantastic weekend. Saturday morning everybody sang me awake at some crazy hour like 5 because we all had to get ready to go for a run! And then everybody in the resort was awake – it was quite a rousing melody sang in some very false loud voices.

The run was absolutely amazing – in the forest, in a misty rain in Sabie, with my best friend and lover – Hubby. We really had such a great time – took pictures and just enjoyed ourselves.

The rest of the weekend we ate, braai-ed and just sat around enjoying the company – all in the misty Sabie rain! It was just such a wonderful restoring weekend. And I can honestly say that the people there – none of them really close friends just made it better.

And then this weekend I heard the amazing news that I was the first lady to finish in my age group at the run in Sabie. I don’t think anybody can imagine what this means to me. I’ve always been the nerdy bookworm just interested in academics and here I am – 40 years old and coming first in sport events! It is just something so completely out of my scope of experience. And it is just such an amazing feeling of accomplishment and happiness. So that is now the second time! OK every time the field was extremely small – the Comrades prize was against about 4 other ladies and there were only 5 ladies in my age group in Sabie but nonetheless, it feels so great!

So all in all I can say that my 40th birthday was an amazing day.

Tomorrow is the prize giving at Zoe’s school and we received a very formal invite to it so I assume she is going to get a prize. She is soooo excited about it.

And now I’ve received an offer to work at a company for the month of November in the afternoons. I’m in such two minds about it – I really don’t want to spend so much time away from Zoe in the afternoons BUT this may lead to a job offer. I’m really not doing for the extra money but purely for the slim chance that this may be what I’ve been hoping and praying for. So I’m going to bite the bullet and just do it and see how it goes – I don’t have to stay and I have no obligation so if I see it is too much I can always just inform them that it is too much for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ridiculously chuffed with myself

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Good news all around
    Hugs for your Birthday

  2. Deblet says:

    Wow job sounds like it could be the start of something new.
    Congrats on the first position and Zoe.

  3. Rox says:

    Sounds like it has been a kickass birthday this year!! Happy (belated) birthday!

  4. nusha78 says:

    Happy belated birthday!

    Sounds like a grand weekend! Congrats on the job opportunity 🙂

  5. MamaCat says:

    Really late, but hope you have a wonderful new year.
    The job sounds promising,.It is good to have options available, especially with the run around you seem to get at your current work.

Leave a Reply

