Managing stress, dreams and current news

How do you manage stress?

For me it is most definitely running and baking and reading

We had a club run on Sunday morning – 23km’s and it really felt although the full 23km’s were uphill with a head wind.  I ran with a guy that is normally much faster than me but he wanted to take it “slow” because he is doing a tri-athlon this coming weekend.  His slow is my very fast.  Well I stuck with him but I promise you, I really did feel although I was going to puke at one stage but I persevered and I felt so much better after that.  I’m going to the same tonight again – run my heart, lungs and stomach out – it does help.

And then baking, the whole kitchen is standing full of baked goods because I bake and I bake and we don’t really eat it.  I’m not going to bring it to work – I really don’t want the people here to enjoy my stress relief.

Anyway my latest creations included a flourless chocolate cake – 3 slabs of chocolate and 6 eggs and incredibly decadent – a tiny slice is more than enough, and it does beg for some cream drizzled all over it. Wow, wow, wow.

The other cake was a white sheet cake but you put a mixture of brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and nuts on the unbaked cake – this mixture slowly filters to the bottom to create this chewy nutty crust on the cake!  Yum!

And the cupcakes were caramel flavoured with a caramel centre, white buttercream icing with caramel drizzle.

All so wrong on the Banting diet but then again – I’m shrinking thanks to all the stress so I can stuff my face with cakes!

Reading:  I don’t go anywhere without my Kindle but I  have realised in the past month or so that I don’t really read anymore and I now know why – it is because I “buy” all the free books from the Amazon website and they are free for a reason, they are just not very good.  So I ‘ve bought myself a Ken Follett book and I’m now reading like a maniac again – I actually woke up at night and read a few pages.  Amazing how a good writer can grip your attention and make you lie awake at night.

Speaking of lying awake at night – why do I keep on dreaming about new houses with amazing rooms and features or dream that I discover extra rooms in my house that I didn’t know about or dream about a shack behind my house with some evil spirits in.  All my dreams revolve around houses!

And then some more bad news:

I wear a white gold chain with a dragonfly pendant almost all the time, I’ll never attempt a marathon or ultra without this chain and pendant around my neck.  Well this morning the pendant broke – it is fixable but now to find the time to go and get it done.

And then the garage door at the rental property fell out this morning – luckily it missed the tenant’s car but still I’ll have to fix it.

And the stove broke in the other property.  So I have to buy a new stove.

I know in the long run these properties will be beneficial – even if we just sell it when we retire and have the interest on the capital as extra income but at the moment?  I just want to get rid of it!

Zoe is better, her face is still swollen but at least the pain is better and my mom is fine.  And it is raining in Barcelona so at least Hubby can’t brag about enjoying it there! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Managing stress, dreams and current news

  1. charliesbird says:

    flourless chocolate cake – sounds gorgeous!
    Hang in there, the stress must be monstrous at the moment. Keep running!

  2. halberts2014 says:

    I don’t know where you all get the time to read and bake and run and, and and. I get home, cook dinner, do the bath thing and plop into bed for a sleep. The best I can hope for is 15 minutes of reading my YOU before the household wakes up.
    Pffft on all the bad news. Who decides when we’ve had enough
    Hugs RNM, huge hugs

  3. MamaCat says:

    Reblogged this on Notes to Honeybear and commented:
    Your baking sounds absolutely delicious! I have been catching up on your blog and it all sounds horrible. It can only get better from here, I hope. Take care of yourself and do what you need to relieve the stress.

  4. sharons58 says:

    I don’t know what your spiritual beliefs are but I would have all the properties blessed, including the one where you live. Dreams are often messages that we usually ignore!! Love, hugs, blessings and light xxxx

    • runnermum says:

      I made a decision this morning after a conversation with God that I’m going to let go and let Him take over. No more fighting to right all the problems and injustices.

  5. Deblet says:

    Cake sounds divine….yummy.
    Flip the rental properties do sound like a pain, would it be worth your while to get a company to manage them for you, so they deal with all the drama.

    • runnermum says:

      I do have rental companies for both properties now but I still have to pay the maintenance and give approval on everything! However both properties was neglected for a long time so hopefully sooner or later the maintenance will taper off a bit.

      The chocolate cake was amazing!

      • Deblet says:

        Ah so even with an agent a rental property can be a headache.We have been thinking about buying another property but do not need the extra stress…work is enough

Leave a Reply

