Low carbing and running

I haven’t posted anything for a while about running or the low carb high fat way of eating.  Not because it wasn’t happening but purely because there were so much else going on.

I finally ran a 21 km race yesterday – it was my first longer distance and my first race after Comrades.  I was quite apprehensive because I really didn’t train much but I decided to just enjoy  myself.  And lo and behold – I shaved 5 minutes and 30 seconds of my time on the same race last year.  There is hope that the marathon in November will go well.

We are still eating the low carb high fat way but we are not as strict as before comrades.  We do cheat and we do have potatoes or pasta or rice every now and again.  I do find it strange how my body reacts differently to different types of carbs.  If I eat bread I will most definitely have very bad sinus the next two days.

Potatoes doesn’t really affect me and then last night I had risotto – ohh goodness it was good, I made it in the oven and it was absolutely perfect – I actually had two helpings, but did I pay the price for that.  Within 30 minutes I had a headache, my stomach was hurting and I was so bloated that I couldn’t sleep on my stomach!  Amazing how our bodies react and how we don’t know what is making us feel bad.

I baked some low carb rusks last week but I’m really not going to advertise it as a resounding success.  It is beyond dry – it doesn’t want to soak up the coffee and it makes your mouth feel like a desert.  And the texture is just wrong.  And the combination of the sweet coconut taste with the after taste of nuts from the almond flour and then the warm spices like nutmeg and All spice just create a very weird taste.

This is my last week as a 30 something.  How do I feel about it – to be very honest – very neutral – maybe the reality of being 40 will hit me later on but I’m in a good place in my life in myself.  The external factors are there and some are awful but in myself, I’m actually relatively happy and content.

Have a wonderful, blessed week!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Low carbing and running

  1. halberts2014 says:

    We’ve been eating those brown seed loaves from Sasko, those dumpy ones, for quite a few weeks and then last week I bought a white loaf. Within half hour of eating 1 slice I felt horrible. It took DH and I 2 days to get over the bloated feeling. It can only have been the bread because I had my usual muesli for brekkie and DH didn’t have anything. We are now eating that Rooibos and Rye bread.
    I wonder if it is because we are getting older that our bodies kick back at what we eat, or is all the junk the put into the food nowadays that wasn’t in it say 20 years ago.
    Yes, I’m feeling very neutral at nearly 40 (37). What the hey

  2. nusha78 says:

    Age is nothing but a number … exactly right! At almost 40 you’re getting faster and fitter than you were before right? 🙂

  3. charliesbird says:

    It’s that evil gluten! Enjoy this last week of your 30’s, your body is getting healthier and stronger!

  4. Deblet says:

    Enjoy your last week of 30s nothing wrong with the forties though:)

Leave a Reply

