Weekend happenings

I’ve realised that I’m not really living up to the name of my blog at the moment. I can’t remember when was the last time that I’ve said anything about running. OK I do admit that I’m really not running much at the moment. Last week I clocked a whole 11km’s for the week!! However I’m just not a cold weather person and I can’t do this early morning runs when the temperatures hover at around 0 degrees.

I have been doing a lot of gym work though and I can already see a difference in the shape of my arms and my stomach. The muscles show much more but I think the weight loss also help with the definition – no more fat hiding the muscles!

On Saturday night we had our after Comrades party and for the first time in my life I received a prize for a sport achievement! Yes I was the first lady in our club to finish Comrades and my prize is a cool R1,000! I really want to buy something special with it but at the moment I have no idea! Any suggestions?

On Sunday Zoe and myself went to a market in Benoni – “Boere meisie mark”. I was a bit disappointed – I suppose because I can knit and sew and bake. Most of the stuff I saw was either ideas from Pinterest or stuff I can make or bake myself. Owls are most definitely the flavour of the day. I did buy Zoe a very cute little owl purse that was crocheted. There was a food stall that sold vetkoek, Zoe asked for one but they were sold out. So I promised her that we’ll make some at home.

And then the carb monster woke up! I made vetkoek and curry mince and cheese. I had 2 in the afternoon and another 2 in the evening. And then I was craving all things weird and wonderful! I then had chocolate and then some Flings and then I craved Coke – however I didn’t give in to the Coke craving – I had cookies and milk instead. Hubby had the exact same problem – vetkoek for lunch and dinner and then anything he could lay his hands on – chocolate, chips, coke etc etc. And then I actually felt sick – nausea and lethargic – now I don’t know if this was actual real physical symptoms or more psychological because I felt so disgusted with myself. Ohh well it’s not although we do it everyday.

And it seems although the strike is still going on….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekend happenings

  1. sharons58 says:

    Yay on your prize! I think that you should buy yourself something appropriate to the prize such as a running shoe charm or pendant. Certainly something that will last.
    Don’t worry about one day of crazy eating, I am sure that you are all back on track today. I have been disappointed with many of the markets I have seen recently, overpriced and not so well made at most. Hugs for you all. xx

  2. charliesbird says:

    The carb monster – yip, I know all about him! I’ve struggled with terrible cravings this week, as we got strict again, with no more cheats! I have to loose this last 5kg now! Vasbyt, it will pass!
    Yes, I’d also recommend something special to remember your incredible achievement with your prize money – something sparkly!

    • runnermum says:

      What I find amazing is that my post nasal drip is about 10 times worse today than any other day. I should really just get on that wagon and stay on it! Or stay away from the Gluten carbs.

      Yes sparkly is the way to go – I wonder if I shouldn’t get something made?

  3. halberts2014 says:

    Oh man, don’t worry about it. I’m not much of a runner either, LOL..
    Save your prize money until you see something you really fancy. Don’t just spend it because it’s burning a hole in you pocket.
    Oohh, yum yum, now I’m hungry

  4. nusha78 says:

    I think I was running around 11kms a week at my very best … 😉
    Congrats on your prize!! Definitely get something that’s for you and something that’s a bit of a spoil … not necessarily practical as we mums tend to do …

    • runnermum says:

      My very best week was 100km’s! 🙂

      When I got the money I immmediately thought I have to pay it off against the car debt but then I decided no – this is for ME!

  5. MamaCat says:

    You are so good with your exercise and eating, one day is fine. I find if I am too strict I am more likely to think about food all the time. Even if I am not hungry. So if I give myself permission to eat it every so often, I do not eat it (I know I am weird).
    You should get some jewelery with your money. Something just for you.

Leave a Reply

