Living closer to nature

I’m busy reading a book about a year in the life of an organic, sustainable farmer in America.

It is so fascinating to read how they use the manure of the animals to feed the plants and the plants feed the animals and how a piece of land is rested every second year and how to save water and how to store fruits and vegetables and when to plant what and when to harvest etc etc.

I then started to think about this and how far removed we are from our food sources. How we don’t really know what a heirloom (the original without inbreeding, for a want of a better word) apple taste like.

About a week ago I send Hubby to buy some meat for dinner and when he came back he dumped it in the slow cooker. When we had dinner I actually though we were eating venison because of the “wild taste”, we were so tickled by this that we actually went and took the packaging out of the bin to see and it was beef BUT it was organic – we were completely stunned by the taste difference between the normal beef and organic beef. And then the organic milk – also a gigantic taste difference.

And this has started me on the train of thought that the way our grandparents (not mine) but lots of people from that generation lived on the farms – isn’t that the way we should live. All self sufficient and just enough to barter or sell for essentials like clothes etc. I must admit that I’m not too certain if I want to become a farmer, I can’t even keep a succulent alive so I’m quite certain that my vegetables will all die a slow agonising death.

But think about it – every where around us there is a piece of land. What is we don’t plant water hungry shrubs and lawn but use that piece of land to plant vegetables? Will it make a difference, can it make a difference?

We gave our domestic and gardener each a piece of garden and bought them seeds to plant and told them that this is their garden and they can plant the seeds and harvest the vegetables. Ohh well – the seeds were planted and then they both lost interest and the plants died but then they plead hunger and expect us to help? What is the story about giving a fish and teach to fish? Anyway – off the subject.

And now I don’t know where I was going with this? Hmmm I don’t know – it does sound idyllic to go and live on a small farm and do physical work everyday and see the fruits of my labour and know that it actually mean something, who is going to care about yet another bank recon in 5 years time? However I have absolutely no knowledge of anything farm related – even my grandparents all lived in the cities. So I’m very very far removed. Goodness I can’t even bear to buy potatoes with dirt on them! And an egg with a little bit of chicken poo – gross!! However I do feel that I want to make a difference but how?

Maybe find out if there are any small farmers in the area, find out if they sell fruit and vegetables, find out about a farm that sells milk? Help the farmer and not Woolies? Something to investigate….

And the strikers are just up the road again….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Living closer to nature

  1. halberts2014 says:

    I just have to look at a plant and it shrivels up and dies. We do have some strawberries growing wild in the garden. They were contained in a pot a few years back but they seem to be everywhere now. They are really tiny little things, probably because we don’t tend to them, but it’s so cute watching Liam plucking them off the bush and popping them in his mouth.
    That’s the thing with the land reform thing. It doesn’t make sense to take a farm away from someone actually producing from it and giving it to someone who doesn’t give a toss. I think they are right what they are saying, that in a few years time SA will be just like Zim.

    • runnermum says:

      Yes I agree completely – look at the farm that was in the news this week – can’t remember the Mp’s name now? Last night on 702 her spokesperson blamed apartheid for the state of the animals and the farm!! Huh?

      Actually very scary and another reason to maybe try and get a few things in the ground so we are less dependent on shops.

  2. MamaCat says:

    It is absolutely brilliant to to eat from your own garden. We live in a first floor unit so we have no garden. We do grow in pots. It is lovely to pluck your own herbs for dinner, or chilli peppers. Now I have that rose bush hubby gave to me…it is growing beautifully in my kitchen window sill. Start small and you will be fine. We also have six potted aloes at our front door and my prize…a frangipani tree (in a pot). Aloes need so little care.
    Try your local boeremark. We have one here in Pretoria. You have to go at the crack of dawn on a Saturday morning to buy fresh produce…veggies, fruit, milk, yogurt, cream, meat, eggs and a whole bunch of homemade food and crafts…etc. There is fresh made bread too. It really is worth going there because it is cheaper and fresher.

  3. runnermum says:

    You see you don’t even need a piece of land – it can all be done in pots!
    I’m going to find out about a boeremark. I love the Irene market but that is a little bit too far to drive to try and save.

  4. nusha78 says:

    When we lived in Durbs (when I was still a student) my dad grew a whole range of veggies in our garden … we could eat (and did) whole vegetarian meals that were freshly plucked from dad’s garden. It was wonderful. Sadly I did not inherit his gift with plants and growing things … most things I try to grow die sad and horrible deaths … even pot plants.
    We have fruit trees at the moment, 2 types of peach, a lemon, a plum, and another citrus/naartjie type fruit (see how bad I am I don’t even know which exact fruit it is) šŸ™‚ The kids love picking fruit from the trees šŸ™‚
    We have the space for a veggie garden, maybe I should start a veggie garden with the kids in spring! šŸ™‚ See you’ve inspired me to try again with growing things

  5. charliesbird says:

    Farm life is my fantasy!!!! Totally keen! Saying that, we grow some fruit and herbs in our garden, have planted lots of fruit and nut trees on our plot in the mountains, and yes, we get an organic veggie box from our local health store once a week, definitely tastes better!

  6. runnermum says:

    Wow – how long will it be before the trees on you plot start to produce?

    I should really investigate and see if there isn’t a veggie box delivery system here in my area.

Leave a Reply

