Facebook and lost work days

SO we had to hightail it out of our office again at about 10:30 yesterday. It is beyond frustrating because the work doesn’t get less and our working hours are about half. Needless to say that the threat of retrenchment doesn’t help.

So now onto my real post – Facebook. I use Facebook mostly for information purposes so I have liked a lot of pages about cooking and LCHF and running and then to have some kind of record of photo’s and what we do for Zoe one day, if Facebook still exist. And it is nice to see what my friends overseas are up to.

However I do think that Facebook can have a tremendous impact on you if you are discontent or unhappy or depressed or have a tendency to be jealous.

When do people post on Facebook? About another humdrum day in your life when you oversleep and spill coffee on your only clean outfit and then have to drop the kids off at school and rush to work to do the same thing that you have done for the past 5 or 10 or 20 years?

No you post when you go on holiday or when you go to the spa or when you get flowers from your Hubby or when your child achieve something good – nobody is going to post when your child has to sit detention.

So the snapshots you get of people’s lives are all the good things and none of the bad and the ugly. However it is easy to forget that so and so hasn’t posted for months and are now posting all the time because of a holiday or something similar.

And let’s not forget the people that friend request you and you accept but then they don’t know you when you sit next to them at the netball game at school or ignore you in the gym when you pass them. How bizarre – friends on the internet and strangers in real life.

And there is an even darker side – the girl that we know that tried to commit suicide – she posted a cryptic message on her page just before she drank the pills and in hind sight you could see that she meant for it to be a farewell note and everybody ignored it. So with confidence and esteem issues she can very likely interpret it that nobody cares for her.

Does this mean that I’ll quit Facebook? No because for me it is less about the people on Facebook and more about the information and the showing Zoe our journey once she is bigger.

Brrr it is soooooo cold in Gauteng!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Facebook and lost work days

  1. halberts2014 says:

    I don’t have a facebook, twitter or whatever account. I personally don’t understand why people need to be posting about their lives every 10 seconds. I get so infuriated sitting behind careless drivers who are tapping away on their phones. What on earth could be so important that you need to message someone at 6.30am in the morning.
    Blogging is as far as I go, but like you said, no one really posts about the bad stuff, only the good stuff. Blogging is a good outlet for when things get too overwhelming. I can always count on my blog buddies for a bit of advise or even just a virtual chat.
    Hugs and strong for the work situation, very scary

    • runnermum says:

      I agree with you about blogging. I think what frustrates me most on Facebook is when a couple declare their love for each other on it, just tell each other please!

  2. MamaCat says:

    I jut blog. I do not do any of the other social media stuff. It seems far too “share-all”.
    I keep my blog anonymous and I really do not want to know what is going on in the lives of people I do not know anymore.
    I hate when people stick pictures of myself or my child on there and then tag it because you get an email from facebook telling you about it and I wonder how they get my email address when I do not have an account?

    • runnermum says:

      That is disturbing that Facebook can send you an email without you being on it. Big Brother is watching!

      • MamaCat says:

        Some IT guy types explained it like this: If you and I email each other regularly and if I am in you contact list and you are the one with the account, it picks up info from your contact list. So when you tag me, it has my info from your contacts and it sends me an email.
        I also noticed that the adds that display on pages when I browse the internet are personal to me. EG: Ads for specific software I use, according to common searches I use in Google, or pages I visited. So if I visited a page about camping gear, I will see ads for camping stuff when I am on the internet.
        Maybe it is just me and my security settings are not high enough.

  3. nusha78 says:

    I am on FB but not on Twitter. I blog alot more than I post to FB though … and seeing as how I only blog once every 1.5 to 2 weeks I’m not really very active on FB. I must admit that it’s sometimes just the curiosity factor that makes me accept friend requests etc.
    TOTALLY agree with you on the lovey-dovey posts … they drive me nuts. Live your romance in the real world NOT on FB …

  4. Deblet says:

    Blog and FB but mainly FB to keep in touch with friends and family all over the world.My blog is more personal and I don’t freely tell people about my blog.

Leave a Reply

