Crime

So our little enclosed neigbourhood has seen about 15 break-ins in the last 3 weeks.  Kind of a scary statistic because there is really not that many houses in this area.

We have now created a Whatsapp for the people living in this area and now the ping of my phone will go at 2 in the morning saying that dogs are barking in this area or somebody has seen somebody run past their house etc.  

Last night was an absolute zoo.  Phone going, people with million watt flashlights walking up and down the streets looking at every tree and shrub, dogs barking, cars going up and down, people talking and our dogs just slept!  So we really didn’t sleep much, kind of tired this morning because the times I did sleep, I was fighting with the people at work.

I think that one of the reason why I love it so much to go to Durban is that I feel safe at night.  We stay in my mom’s flat and it is on the 14th floor.  There are gates, access control doors, and obviously fourteen floors between the criminals and my family.  It is one of the few places where I actually feel safe.  How sad that we have to be in a constant state of alertness, no wonder there is so much aggression and anger in our country.  Makes me so sad.

The weekend was absolutely fantastic.  We made a pact not to talk about all the problems and worries and to just enjoy each other and Zoe.  We didn’t eat out – made all our food ourselves and just relaxed.  It was absolutely perfect.  Zoe was an absolute angel – I think she could feel that we needed not to have any aggravation or stress.

Now we are back in reality and I’m so so angry at work.  I just wish it can all come to a head now, I don’t want to hang in the air like this.

In the mean time Hubby’s work has announced that they are going to merge with another company and guess what – more retrenchments  will happen.  Goodness, the stress.  We sat last night and decided that it doesn’t help to stress, his process will only start next year if at all and for now we are healthy, we have full stomachs, we have a roof over our heads and we are warm.  We are focusing on that – lots of people can’t even say that.

All of this uncertainty and doubt and upheaval has now brought us to a dream.  A dream of leaving everything behind and hooking our trailer tent thingy behind the car and to just travel through the country and stop at each and every caravan park we encounter.  Stop for a few days, soak up the local culture and move on.  And do it all on the minimum of money.  However for now it can only be a dream, we are to tied down to the white picket fence live with a bond and car debt and pets and let’s not forget Zoe’s education.  So definitely a long term goal to reach before we are too old.  I wonder if Zoe will be keen to take a gap year after university and travel with her parents?

After the debacle with Hubby’s mom this year at Two oceans we have also decided to put the dream of doing 10 Two Oceans on the back burner until we can sort something out with Zoe or until she is bigger.  My child’s happiness is much more important than running Two Oceans.  I’m sad about it but I’m firm in my resolve.

I better get working.  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crime

  1. halberts2014 says:

    Sounds like you need a hug

  2. MamaCat says:

    It does get better and settle down. Having been there with the threat of retrenchment and the money just not seeming to be enough, you do get through it. You are way more creative than you know and you will find a way to survive the upheaval. I was always stressed and worried and I could not sleep and ten one day I realised it was beyond my control and to just let the stress and worry go. You feel better, and you do eventually come back to the good and comfortable cycle.

  3. Rox says:

    That is an awful lot of stress for one person to be dealing with. MamaCat’s advice is spot on, sometimes letting go is a wonderful way to find some equilibrium. I hope everything evens out and settles for you soon!

  4. nusha78 says:

    Sorry S! You do sound like you need loads of hugs … this is alot of stress!!

    I like MC’s advice as well … if there was a LIKE button for comments I would LIKE hers for sure … it’s very sound and wise advice … I can’t really say much more. Sending you virtual hugs and hoping that everything settles down for you guys soon…

Leave a Reply

