Monday

Gratefulness, happiness, joy log:

11. Pink – anything pink.

12. Coffee

13. Oak trees in autumn with their vibrant red leaves

14.  Holding hands with Jack, yes Jack comes and sits next to me in the evenings and he will scratch my leg until I take his paw in my hand and hold it.

15.  Cookies

 

I’ve wasted two cups of tea today – first one I had to pour into the drain when somebody breathed over it before I even had a sip.  The second cup ended up all over my desk when I bumped it whilst reaching for something.  At least I had the presence of mind to jump up before it all dripped onto my trousers again – that is what happened two weeks ago.  So I’ve decided that I’m just not meant to drink tea today.

The weekend was as usual running on both days and the rest of the time we basically just planned for Comrades and made lists of things we want to put in the tent trailer.  The runs were very slow and you could see that all the Comrades runners were kind of pulling back and all reflecting on the training for the year.

On Sunday morning we had our chairman’s run and breakfast afterwards.  The black guys in our club always sing on the last kilometer of the run and I was in tears.  It is just so incredibly special and the song they sing is asking God to bless us and protect us.  I can’t sing along but I run slowly in their mids and hold hands and applaud and hug them once the run is over.

After the run, the T-shirt hand outs, the breakfast and the photographs I had enough of the fuss around Comrades.  I want to crawl into my hole for the next week and prepare myself and get my head in the right space and get rid of the over emotional feelings that is swirling inside me.  No more Comrades runs or anything.  I need to get the focus away from the external things and prepare internally.

Work is still strange – the latest now is that at our flash meetings at 10 each morning we are going to start with prayer.  I don’t know how that is going to work because the MD is actually agnostic and the other manager is a Catholic – going to be interesting.

That is enough writing for today.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday

  1. halberts2014 says:

    I don’t think one should mix religion at work in case you offend someone. It’s very risky

  2. MamaCat says:

    The oak leaves are pretty this time of year.
    Good Luck with the prep for Comrades.
    If I worked there, the prayer thing would be a problem for me’ not that I have anything against prayer, for me it is private and anything with anyone else is just odd and useless.

  3. Rox says:

    Just popping in to say good luck for the Comrades! Enjoy it. xx

  4. charliesbird says:

    Wishing you well as you travel to KZN and prepare to run an unspeakably long way! Best of luck, I will be glued to the box watching all you crazies! (and I mean that in the nicest possible way!)

  5. nusha78 says:

    Wishing you all the best for your Comrades run!! Take care and have fun!!

  6. MamaCat says:

    And? How did it go? I have been thinking about you all weekend.

Leave a Reply

