Low carb high fat, the questions, the comments and the misconceptions

Once again the disclaimer is that I’m no professional and I’m just talking about it from my own experience – and apologies to anybody who reads my blog who don’t find this interesting at all – just skip this “novel”

The more I research this LCHF or Ketosis way of life the more I realise that The Real Meal revolution by Tim Noakes makes it just too complicated.  This doesn’t have to be complicated, this doesn’t have to mean that you have to eat very expensive food.

The bottom line is that you must have protein as big as the palm of your hand with each meal, you must get your dark green veggies in and then you must have fat, you must cut out all sugar which means fruit as well (I cheat in this area) and you must cut out all processed and refined foods and then eat the minimum of carbs.

If you lactose intolerant, don’t drink milk but remember every process to make cheese and yogurt makes the lactose in the product less so check your labels – even cream is very low in lactose because the cream sits on top of the milk and the lactose is in the milk.    If you still can’t tolerate any dairy, what about goats milk and cheese?

The other alternative to dairy is coconut cream and coconut milk – I’ve opened a tin and kept the remainder in the fridge for at least a week.

Nuts are not a must on this diet.  We are really bad and we graze all day long so for us nuts are heaven send because if we want to graze we have nuts instead of chips.  The almond flour I use is a personal preference – I don’t like the taste of coconut flour because it is too sweet but you can use that in a lot of the baking.

You don’t have to use any of the alternative flours – I’ve seen pizza bases made with cheese and cauliflower and pasta made with zucchini, you have to research and decide what you want.  I absolutely adore the cauliflower mash or broccoli mash – Hubby and Zoe won’t even taste it.  The cauliflower rice is also really tasty.

I’ve made pasta on Tuesday with chick pea flour – it is higher in carbs than almond flour but lower that traditional flour.  I’ve used 100g of flour and we had two meals from it, so the carbs were actually very low.  And how can you resist a cheesy lasagne or a pork goulash with fettuccine?  Now both of these meals were eaten with the chick pea pasta but it wasn’t the main player in these dishes.  The cheese sauce in the lasagne and the goulash sauce in the pork dish were the hero’s and that is where all the fat was hidden.  Butter, coconut oil, cheese and olive oil.

To avoid your body going into shock and punishing you with carb flu and rebelling because of all the fat, take it slowly.  We started to slowly cut out carbs in about November last year, simple little things like leaving the toast when we have breakfast.  Eating only half of the rice or the pasta and then slowly introducing coconut oil and butter into our diet.  So the negative effects for us were minimal because we took it slowly.  Instead of putting butter on my toast now I put butter on my fried eggs – sounds gross doesn’t it.

What else?  For me to go on a diet has never worked because the moment I think I can’t have something is when I really WANT it!  So I’ll always feel deprived and cheated.  On this lifestyle change I don’t feel deprived at all – we eat like kings – all the food are so rich and yummy.  The salads are never dry – it is full of mayo or cream cheese.  I love sauce and with this we have some kind of sauce with every meal, what is not to love.  And we can still have the things we love in moderation – Hubby still drink his beer, I still have a chocolate or my beloved Flings.

It is not hard, it is an adjustment and a change of mind set.  I must admit that I think what does make it easier for us is that I love cooking, so I enjoy researching to find a low carb pasta that I can make myself and I like the challenge of finding a bread that we like and that is low carb and that I can bake.

And if all else fails you can always have some Ryvita biscuits – they are so low in carbs you can actually have two!

And the other thing to keep in mind is that we never started on this journey to lower our weight, we did it to run better.  The decreased weight was just an additional benefit.  Just in the last week I have lost another 500g’s.  – current weight – 58.3kg’s – I was at about 64.5kg’s in December

And by the way you don’t have to exercise to change to this way of eating.

If you exercise and do a lot of endurance you’ll either see a decrease in your performance or you’ll have to accept that you’ll have to eat some carbs before and during your event or the exercise.  We can’t run far without some kind of carb or sugar.  We don’t want to punish ourselves like that so we do have plentiful carbs then.  But the strangest thing will happen – the night before Two Oceans we each had a big plate full of spaghetti carbonara.  The next morning both our stomachs were bloated and we felt a bit uncomfortable.  However we both had wonderful runs on the day and that is more important.

The pasta recipe:

100g chick pea flour

1 egg

Mix the egg and flour – if it is too dry, add some olive oil.  Kneed it – remember there is no gluten in so you can’t over knead.  It is a bit sticky so just cover your hands and work surface with a sprinkle of chick pea flour.  Roll it out for lasagne sheets or roll out and cut in strips for fettuccine.  Drop the pasta in a pot of fast boiling water for about 5 minutes and you have pasta.  I use my pasta machine but you don’t need it to make this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Low carb high fat, the questions, the comments and the misconceptions

  1. MamaCat says:

    You have really got me interested in the Tim Noakes thing. I have been doing a whole lot of reading about this and I must say, they all sound very plausible and there is you….you are proof that it works. I am just worried I am looking for an easy way out. I also cannot get my mind around no bread. I cannot imagine life without bread. Pasta and rice I can live without.
    I also like the way in which you look for different meal ideas.

    • runnermum says:

      It is most definitely not the easy way out. It takes dedication. Lucky for me I’ve never been to bothered by bread so that part was easy but oooohhhhh the potatoes – baked, fried, mashed, you name it – I loved it.

      Look further than Low carb, high fat, look at Ketosis as well.

      • MamaCat says:

        Thanks I read some really interesting stuff. I did not mean to say it was an easy diet but that maybe for me the eating would be easier than the ours of exercise (not that I am going to get away without exercise)

  2. JessV says:

    Great post, thanks for this. Also slowly trying to cut carbs/smaller carb portions. Still not sure tho if I want to go the Paleo way or the LCHF way.
    Awesome weight loss since December, wow!
    xx

  3. debraaukett says:

    I joined the Sleek Geek community last year May – first did a Reboot where we cut out all grains, legumes, starches, sugars, dairy, potatoes etc – basically Paleo, but more strict because no honey or sweeteners allowed. It did me the world’s good – feel so much better and I try to follow this lifestyle since then, although with a few slip ups now and again. Love my coconut milk and coconut oil and nuts! Started to incorporate full cream dairy during this pregnancy though and will probably while breastfeeding too.
    Well done!

  4. nusha78 says:

    I actually bought the book and am busy reading it … thanks to you 🙂
    Hubby is not convinced yet though … and my mum and his dad are not keen on giving up carbs … so I’m not sure how to pull it off in my house!

    • runnermum says:

      It is a very difficult mind set to change, especially if the person doesn’t want to do it. I said to somebody yesterday that I really don’t miss carbs anymore, the other food is just so yummy.

Leave a Reply

