The weekend

And it is Monday again and the school has started.  This morning was completely mayhem.  We were so late that I only realised in the car that I didn’t brush my hair – so I brushed my hair everytime we stopped at a traffic light.  So obviously only a ponytail for me this morning.

We’ve had such a hectic few days since Thursday that poor old Zoe is completely exhausted.  We went to the Barnyard theatre on Thursday night and she absolutely loved it, just want to go back again.  But at 10:30 she had enough and we went home.  We had such a laugh because she told us that was so tired the people on stage looked although they were in a colouring book.

Saturday Hubby and myself had to run, so he got up and ran 17km’s and I then did 15km’s – luckily I had to go and fetch him and then had to run home because it was a tough run and if I was close to home I may have decided to do less than 15km’s.

Yesterday was an early morning – got up at 5 and obviously Zoe had to get up as well and went to a race to run 32km’s.  As luck would have it, I stepped on a rock at about 4km’s and twisted my ankle quite badly however as you do when you are a runner, I waited for the pain to go away and I could put weight on the foot again and went on to run another 28km’s!  Yes my ankle is quite sore this morning, going to the physio in a short while to get it strapped. So 67km’s done for the week.  Just another 53 days to Comrades and 12 to Two Oceans.

And then we had such a lovely picnic with our friends from England.  It was quite interesting to see their point of view on South Africa – they’ve been away for 2.5 years now after living here for about 6 years.  They are absolutely convinced that South Africa is a better option than England at the moment.  I actually feel so bad for them because they desperately want to come back but they just can’t afford to make another move to another country again.

On the eating change – I don’t want to call it a diet because it is a lifestyle change – I’ve lost another 500g’s this past week, not bad considering that I had cake and pizza on Friday and the rest of the weekend was also a bit of a disaster.  I fell completely of the no-carb wagon on Saturday when I ate a whole bag of Simba chips!

Today our boss is back from a trip to Tanzania – I look at him and I’m so extremely angry, these people play with our lives.  And he can’t even look me in the eye this morning which is a real sign that things are up.  Arrghhhh – I just want it to be over now.  I can’t stand the suspense of not knowing if I’m getting the boot or not.

Not really any other big news.  Just waiting and waiting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The weekend

  1. MamaCat says:

    Lol, on the hair, what do you do besides a pony tail? Good on the running. You are really very good.
    I love picnics, if only I could get myself into gear ore often.

    • runnermum says:

      My hair is either a ponytail or down and when I run races in two pigtails – my nickname on the road is Pippie Langkous! Zoe’s hair is a ponytail or a french plate or two ponytails or sometimes sommer a bun.

  2. nusha78 says:

    Interesting about your friends wanting to come back. Some times we don’t realise what we have til someone else points it out.

    We are exactly the same with our hair … ponytail or down … that’s all I do as well 🙂

    Hope your ankle is all better. My runner friend wanted to know if you eat anything during a loooong run???

    Sorry about the limbo-work-situtation … so unpleasant! Hope it resolves itself soon.

    • runnermum says:

      I’m not the best example when it comes to nutrition on long runs. I have yogurt and nuts before the run and then chia seeds, gels and rehidrate during the run. No food to speak of, I just never feel the need. Only advise I can give is not to try anything new on Comrades day.

  3. Deblet says:

    Glad Two Oceans training is on track just hope we can organize better weather for you all than what was sent for the Argus Cycle!

Leave a Reply

