Education

I work in an environment where we have a workshop with a lot of unskilled labour.  The level of education absolutely breaks my heart.  How can a government that claim to care about it’s people allow people to be so ignorant.

We have just employed a guy – he has finished Grade 9 and he had to ask somebody else to complete his staff information form for him.  How is it possible to advance to Grade 9 and still not be able to complete a simple form.

They can’t communicate in English – English is my second language as well but I do try and I work hard to be the best that I can be but these poor people just never had the opportunity.

These guys in the workshops are all so eager and want to learn so badly but they are at such a disadvantage even before they try and enter the job market because they have such a low level of education.

I sometimes wonder if the government is not doing it on purpose.  Keep the people uneducated and fill their heads with wonderful promises that they have no intention of keeping but because if the government never teach them to think for themselves they will keep on voting for the current government.

I also think that it is leading by example – why have an education if you can occupy the highest office in the country with grade 5 behind your name.  Why worry about an education when the colour of your skin will give you the advantage of BEE.

I just don’t know – I feel education is so important – not just for career opportunities but for the wealth of information that you can collect and the self confidence that come from knowing that you can discuss and argue and have wonderful conversations with other people about all things weird and wonderful.

How do we go about installing a sense of self worth in people who can’t even read or write and that is people that is barely 20 years old so the old regime can’t be blamed for it.

However that brings me to the other point and it is something that has been bothering me for quite a while.  I was brought up in the Old South Africa.  I had the opportunities that people of colour of my age didn’t have.  How far would I have progressed if I was black in the old South Africa.  How far do we take the advantages versus the disadvantages of the old government.  It was expected of me to go to university but what if nothing was expected of me and there was no pressure to get an education?  Would I have done it on my own?

It is such difficult questions and I don’t think there is a right or wrong answer.  All we can do is to strive to improve the kids that is in the system now and get them to be educated to the best of their ability.  How can the economic growth point in Africa have the third worse education in the world.  Who is not doing their jobs?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Education

  1. Roxanne says:

    That is very sad. I just keep hoping and praying that it gets better, but lets face it, its October and some schools in Limpop STILL don’t have text books, it is utterly ridiculous and no one wants to take responsibility. The people in this country deserve so much better and education is the door that opens the way to better things. We can only keep hoping that together we can all find a way to improve this situation because we cannot rely on our government.

    *Lunar*

    • runnermum says:

      It is a sad situation – and then look at the people in government – they don’t want to use the state hospitals or the state schools – I find that utterly wrong – if it is good enough for their people it should be good enough for them.

  2. Deblet says:

    Sad situation,also wondered often what life would have been had I been of another colour.
    I am just very appreciative that we have amazing government schools down in CT in the Northen Suburbs especially….we are blessed.

    • runnermum says:

      Being Afrikaans and living on the East Rand of Jhb we are also extremely fortunate that the Afrikaans schools are still very very good. The high school just two blocks from us is in the top 5 in Gauteng each year with the Matric results!!

      I suppose to wonder how you would be if you were another colour is to wonder how you would be if you were a man. Kind of futile.

Leave a Reply

