Two Oceans

Let me quickly give a feedback on the Two Oceans run 2 weeks ago.

Well I’m sure the people living in Cape Town have some kind of idea what was going on but I don’t think anybody can really begin to imagine if you weren’t out there for 6 hours, 44 minutes and a few seconds. Shazzie saw a piccie of me on facebook so I’m sure she can tell you guys how miserable I looked.

It was absolutely the worst run of my life. I’ve never been so miserable and felt so sorry for myself.

Well let me start at the beginning.

On the morning of the race we woke up to little stars twinkling in the early morning sky and we thought we’ll be really lucky with the weather. We were so optimistic that we put on suntan lotion and we even took our sunglasses.

Well ha ha ha to these fools from Gauteng who know nothing about the tricky Cape Town weather.

The first 10 kilometers down Main road was lovely and we could see the mountain where we were going quite clearly. And then within about 10 seconds the mountain dissapeared behind a grey cloud mass and within seconds the rain came pouring down!

People around me pulled black bags out of pouches and bags and put those on like raincoats. I didn’t have that luxury – black bags are not easy to come by when you stay in a hotel. However those black bags did not really keep them dry – it was raining so hard that the water basically leaked into the holes around their necks and arms. Everybody was wet wet wet.

At this stage I was still trying to be chirpy and cheerful. I was telling myself and the people I ran with that I’m actually dry because my suntan lotion is waterproof and my toes were full of Vaseline which is also waterproof. So in theory I was completely dry.

This chirpy and cheerfulness lasted for the next 20 kilometers and that is where we started to climb on Little Chappies and then obviously the big one – Chapmans Peak. I was running with a friend and his wheels was really coming off. He missed his girlfriend at around 25km’s and this has really shook him up. He was looking forward to dry socks, T-shirts and a new garbage bag – however he couldn’t find her and his wheels came off completely. I stuck with him all the way up Chapmans but by this time there was no talking and no jokes and no fun.

Running down Chapmans into Houtbay did not bring any relief either because even though it was downhill we were beyond cold and miserable – the rain was pouring down, the wind was howling and the temperature was around 12 degrees Celsius. By this time it was survival.

My running partner started to complain about feeling nauseaous and I gave him a Rehidrate. We caught up with each other again just before Constantia’s neck, which is where the race really starts. This is 42 kilometers into the race and it is a giant hill of about 3 kilometers – however it feels like about 300 kilometers.

We walked and walked and walked and walked. And this hill was not ending, at the 45 kilometer mark there was sign that said that the next cut off will be at 46km’s and I realised that I may not make it. I dropped my running partner and started to self hypnotise.

I was in a complete zone of my own and I’m actually scared to look at the photo’s they have taken on the last 10 km’s of this race. I was muttering to myself and giving myself encouragement the whole time. Saying things like that this only less that 9 kilometers. The dog can run this etc etc etc.

When we turned onto the university grounds I snapped out of this self imposed hypnosis and I started to sob. Everybody around me was trying to console me but I wanted nothing of it. I was cold, miserable, feeling sorry for myself and feeling terrible because I dropped my running partner.

The last 150meters was the worst because it was in mud that was about calve deep. Every step meant a struggle to keep my shoes on and to try upright. The finish banner collapsed so I didn’t know where I had to finish and I finally stopped when they gave me my medal.

Hubby was next to the finish and just held me and allowed me to sob my little heart out and then I still had to walk another kilometer to get to the car.

I never had to dig so deep and dig so hard to stay in a race. Every bail bus that came by was a temptation and every person with a car next to the road was an option to stop and get out of the rain and to get warm. I preservered and I made it, with the rain and the wind and the cold and the injury and the low mileage and low fitness.

And Two Oceans, I’ll be back next year come rain, sun, hail or snow! This is my race and I’ll do 10 of you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Two Oceans

  1. fitnesseditor says:

    I feel your pain, and I only had to do half of that!! WELL DONE for finishing though, you’re amazing!

  2. SuritaBotha says:

    Thank you FitnessEd

  3. deblet says:

    So sorry we arranged krap weather for that day…promise next year will be better.Well done on finishing.

  4. FoxieRox says:

    You have the most amazing will power! Well done on finshing, especially in those conditions!!

  5. sharonsmit2 says:

    Well done on finishing! I would have given up for sure! May the weather be kinder next year (and pack your rain poncho!)

  6. LinFlin says:

    You are still an inspiration! Well done on your race and thank you – for you know what.

  7. annie21 says:

    Wow, Congratulations on finishing, conditions sound just awful but you made it!

  8. SuritaBotha says:

    No problem LinFlin – it was only a pleasure

  9. SuritaBotha says:

    And my Wellingtons!

  10. SuritaBotha says:

    Thank you Lunar – sometimes I think I’m just plain stupid!

  11. SuritaBotha says:

    Thank you Annie!

  12. SuritaBotha says:

    Yes please can you guys plan better next year? 🙂

Leave a Reply

