Kids and dogs

As I’ve said before Zoe really has an enquiring mind and she is sometimes really testing my ability to answer questions and to think outside the box.

Yesterday was a prime example. She asked me why do we get swear words if we are not allowed to use them. Well let me tell you, I was stumped, how do I answer that one. I’m actually a bit dissapointed in myself because I could only come up with mommy does not know. But wow, what a question! I’ve been telling it to a few people and you can actually see the cogs turning trying to come up with an answer and everybody just say – what a good question.

And then the dog. Daisy is our border collie – she is only about 9 months old and I was really extremely against getting a dog. I was just seeing all the negatives and thinking that I would be responsible for all the work. However I can now honestly say that she is a definite asset in our household.

OK I admit, she is chewing our outside wooden furniture into sticks and she is forever killing al lot of our plants but how can that compare to the pure joy in those eyes when you come home.

The added benefit is that people are really really scared of her, OK she is more scared of them but because she has one blue eye and one eye that is three quarters brown and a quarter blue she does look a bit mad.

And now we started to run with her and I’m really impressed at how quickly she has caught onto the whole running thing. I’ve started to tell her to stop and wait whenever we get to a road and she is only allowed to cross when I tell her to do so. It is now so ingrained that she actually stops at a road and wait for my instructions. But goodness it tires me out to run with her – she has only two speeds – full speed and letting me drag her along when she gets tired – her full speed is much faster than what is comfortable for me so I’m dead within 1 kilometer!! Hopefully she’ll learn to pace herself when she gets more used to the running.

The excitement when she sees our running shoes is absolutely priceless!

And now a question for the dog lovers and people who know dogs – how can I get her to be more agressive or even just act more agressive. One of the main reason we got her is for her to act as security for me when I run and she is with me. However she actually try to run away when she sees other people on the pavement or on the road and when another dog runs up to her – even a tiny little Jack Russel she will actually lie down and try and hide!!!

And the biggest advantage is that Zoe went from being completely petrified of dogs to being completely dog mad!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kids and dogs

  1. Storm10 says:

    Your dog is still a puppy, so she will react like one. You need to wait till she is about 2 for her to come into her own and trust me she will then protect you automatically.

  2. Sarchasm says:

    BC dogs are wonderful loving pets but need lots of space to run. Great company on the road.

  3. Squidsquirt says:

    Great energetic dog to keep you company! I’m sure she’ll adapt as you spend time with her.

  4. lyndamadd says:

    Your doggie is just a little unsure of herself ‘cos she’s still young. Just a word of advice: her bones are still strengthening and you shouldn’t run too far or too fast with her until she’s about 16 months old – if you do the joints may not “seat” properly and she can get arthritis later in life. Enjoy her though, they are very good for the soul. 🙂

  5. Kasc says:

    Doggie training would be good. A friend of ours took them to a local doggie school and he was more confident after that.

  6. deblet says:

    Yah for running with the dog,they love to run.Give her lots to play with,they get bored easily.Try empty coke bottles with a few stones inside them,also old buckets and old tyres hanging from a tree with rope.We used to have 2 so have done the garden uprooting,washing eaten off the line,hose pipes eaten bit by bit.

  7. SuritaBotha says:

    But they are so extremely cute! Never thought I’ll say this but maybe we should get another one.

  8. SuritaBotha says:

    I know doggy school will be good for her but goodness I just do not have the personality for that – I’ve tried for a month!

  9. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks Lynda – yes we do try and keep her from being to active because of joint development but goodness it is difficult!

  10. SuritaBotha says:

    She is lovely!

  11. SuritaBotha says:

    I think our Daisy may be one of the most active dogs in the neigbourhood. We run with her and she goes to the local soccer field at least 3 times a week where we play soccer with her!

  12. SuritaBotha says:

    I really hope so because she is a bit of a whimp at the moment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

