Not a nice person

So today I’m absolutely convinced that I’m really not a nice person.  There is this saying that children and dogs can feel intuitively if a person is a good person or not.

Well I think, if you should ask my child and my dog, they’ll definitely vote for me as a very bad person.

It started last night when we came home.  We allowed the dog to come in with us and she promptly decided to pee on the carpet in the sitting room, with the front door still open and she has just came in from outside.  I started to shout and scream and tried to chase the dog out of the house but she was persistant in trying to hide in the bedroom behind the curtains – luckily we have a sliding the door in the bedroom and finally the dog went out there.  But by this time my throat was hoarse from screaming.  So the dog stayed outside the whole night!  I thought Border Collies were supposed to be clever dogs – why can’t she understand this peeing and poohing outside thing?

This morning I HAD to wash Zoe’s hair.  Well first she got a big talking to because she has this horrible habit of blowing spit bubbles, she then decided to be stroppy!  After a lot of threats she finally decided to wet her hair, only to decide that she is now scared to put her head in the water!  This from a kid swimming in the fish pond and going for swimming lessons since she was 18 months old.  Still I kept my cool.  Finally her hair was washed and conditioned and rinsed.

And then she wanted two pigtails.  Now I know by now that she has to choose her own hairbands because she has very specific ideas about she wants in her hair.  Well when I asked her to choose, she ignored me and ignored me again and again.  I was really not in the mood for a fight so I chose some hairbands.  Red on top and white at the bottom – perfectly matching her red school shirt and white leggings.

Well did she throw a wobbly about that because she wants different coloured hairbands – nothing should be the same.  And then I noticed that a pamhlet that I wanted to use was missing from where I’ve put it and she acknowledged that she took it and does not know where it was anymore.

And that was the final straw – I screamed and shouted like a banshee! 

And then I walked away and when she followed me I screamed some more and when she started to cry, I screamed some more.  And then when she didn’t want to apologise I screamed some more!

I feel like a totaly and utter failure in the child and the dog department today.  Luckily if I should take a cue from the parent 24 blogs today I’m not entirely alone in this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Not a nice person

  1. colleen_figg says:

    Shame seems all the parents are up against it today.Did you housetrain your dog?

  2. lyndamadd says:

    Oh dear, a cloud must have passed in front of the sun that everyone is having such bad-mommy-moments. Don’t stress – gotta go up from here. This, too, shall pass. And in the mean time you’re entitled to feel guilty and cross and insecure etc. It’s your constitutional right. Would a big slab of chocolate help?

  3. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks Linda – yes a big slab of chocolate is on the cards for this afternoon

  4. SuritaBotha says:

    I did try and housetrain my dog but it seems although it was a bit of a failure!

  5. Sarchasm says:

    You’re human and we all say and do things we regret from time to time. You’re not unique or a freak. Just human.

  6. Squidsquirt says:

    Tomorrow is a new day- that’s what keeps most of us going 🙂

  7. Helen_77 says:

    Sounds like you had a “No mommy” morning too

  8. tammyn says:

    Ai ai ai… sounds like most mommies had a “bad mommy day” today… Hope your day went better & that all will be well in the child & dog department tonight 🙂

  9. Ladee says:

    You are absolutely normal to have reacted the way you did 🙂 Just because you’re a mommy doesn’t mean you’re not human. I think I would have ended up crying. I’ve never really thought about the whole ‘I’m a mommy & need to be a tough cookie’ idea. I’m such a softy & cry quite easily so I can see alot of posts from me, half mimicking this post lol

  10. youunlimited says:

    We all have days like this. Hop over to Cinderella any you can see you were not alone today. HOpe tomorrow is better for you.

  11. seven77 says:

    Shame!! good luck, don’t worry my poor dogs also have their days in our house but they always come back for love.

  12. nusha says:

    HUGs! I also lost it with Munchkin a couple of days ago … cos she just wouldn’t listen and I was already in a bad mood. I yelled and she got such a fright she burst into tears and started saying through her tears “you scared me mummy!” i felt horrendous 😦 you’re not a “not nice” person … you’re just a normal mum … we all have bad days!

  13. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks Nusha – it is good to know that I’m not alone in loosing it every now and again!

  14. SuritaBotha says:

    Today when the dog looked at me with those adoring eyes I forgot all about her accidents.

  15. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks Cams.

  16. SuritaBotha says:

    A human in a very bad mood! 🙂

  17. SuritaBotha says:

    Hope is the saviour of us all

  18. SuritaBotha says:

    This was more of a NO MOMMY morning

  19. SuritaBotha says:

    Seems although child and dog learned their lesson for now!

  20. SuritaBotha says:

    I suppose we all have these days and off course the end of the year Novemberitis is not helping

  21. LinFlin says:

    We have all been there, trust me!

Leave a Reply

