Unconscious actions

Sorry but here I go again with my negative roll model.

She has this very nasty habit of sighing all the time – when she moves her chair, she sighs, when the phone rings, she sighs, when she opens her e-mail she sigh. Well I’m sure you get the picture.

And then the other thing she does is to yawn loudly and you can actually hear that it is not a reall yawn but a very big fake yawn. Once again I don’t even think she is aware of doing it.

OK and I do admit that once a person irritates you they can’t really do anything right anymore can they?

Now I’ve caught myself that I actually also do a lot of sighing. Well not anymore, when I take that breath to let it out in a sigh I stop myself because do I have a reason to sigh or am I doing just because it is a mannerism?

So now my question is – do these mannerism or unconscious actions we have actually have an impact on our general mood and mindset?

Surely if you sigh all the time you tell your brain and your body that you are depressed. To yawn all the time must tell your brain that you are tired.

Strangely enough this roll model is always telling me that sleeps for 9 hours a night but she is always tired and she is always unhappy or angry about something or just completely depressed because of her very difficult life.

I wonder….

I suppose it won’t harm to try and get rid of my negative mannerism – only problem is that most of the time we don’t even realise that we have them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unconscious actions

  1. deblet says:

    Positive vibes and mannerisms are nicer….but sometimes it’s the work situation that we can’t control that brings out the negatives

  2. PurpleDiamond says:

    Tell her that everytime she sighs, she kills a fairy… lol worked for me at one stage! heheheI wonder along with you – the brain is a powerful thing and it’s very easy for us to mind-eff ourselves into thinking we’re tired when we’re not, or depressed when we’re not. It’s all to do with a negative mind-set. And yes, it does affect those around us. She’s actually affected you into sighing, and I’m glad you caught yourself doing it and striving to change it 😀 Good for you!

  3. Squidsquirt says:

    Wise of you to recognise that we all do things that we don’t always realise we’re doing. I’m paranoid now- do I sigh and yawn? Better keep an eye open on myself!

Leave a Reply

