I maimed my child for life

OK I  know that sounds extremely dramatic but it is really how I felt yesterday when we went to pierce Zoe’s ears.  Yes I do have pierced ears and I have two piercings in every ear but that is it.  Nowhere else – I’m still kind of a miss Goody two shoes or maybe I’m just not very good with pain.  The mere idea of somebody touching my belly button and putting a thing in there – no thank you!!

Well anyway back to Zoe’s piercing.  I always maintained that I’ll get her ears pierced when she asks for it.  She has made some noises about friends having earrings but not too much so I decided to ignore it – yes I know maybe I have selective hearing.

Well what did Hubby do?  He bought her earrings when he came back from Europe and now what?  Now we do not have a choice – the piercing will have to happen.

Hubby obviously declined to do it – claiming he is too busy at work.  Ouma went along but the moment it came down to the crunch she had a pressing need to go and find something on the other side of Dischem

So I was standing in front of Zoe trying to distract her while the lady loaded the gun!  Luckily they were clever and they had two guns and two ladies doing it.

They counted and I swear I was breaking Zoe’s little fingers because I was so scared.  On the count of three they did it and the shock on that little face was enough to bring tears to my eyes.  But within a second she launched herself out of the chair and into  my arms and that was it.  No tears from her – (can’t say the same about me) – and just admiring her new ears in the mirror.  Even the ladies doing the piercings said they can’t believe how good she was.

So now my darling perfect child has holes in her ears.  But at least she did ask for it so it was her own choice – kind of.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I maimed my child for life

  1. shazdart says:

    Bless her little heart and yours! I felt the same with Jess, she was 3 and pleaded with me for nearly a week. They did hers one at a time, not a nice experience. xx

  2. najsyu says:

    I also couldn’t wait to look in the mirror with my first piercing, now I do them myself and cut out the middle man / lady…High five to Zoe for being a brave girl!!

  3. Squidsquirt says:

    It’s a very brief ‘ow’! I also cringe at needles- she’s a brave girl.

  4. deids13 says:

    That’s so nice that they did them both at the same time. I had my belly button done by a heavily tattooed man in a tattoo studio with a very thick needle. It was one of the scariest things I’ve ever done. I must say the actual piercing didn’t hurt but it hurt like mad for days afterward!

  5. Kasc says:

    I had the same done as Deids and I landed up taking it out after a few months because it kept bleeding. You should see what that old scar looks like now that it is stretched over a pregnant belly!

  6. AyDee says:

    Two at one go is so much less traumatic. I had BebeLuv’s done at 5months, sperately – o the pain ‘I’ felt. She was over it in 2minutes

  7. LinFlin says:

    I’m sure she looks so pretty – if it is possible for her to be prettier, because she is so gorgeous already!

  8. PurpleDiamond says:

    What a cool tactic, both at once! I remember when I got my ears pierced, I was 8 and cried like a little baby, while my younger friend giggled all the way through! Strange… I’m sure Zoe looks gorgeous!

  9. deblet says:

    I only allowed mine when they were 10.LO has a while to wait yet

  10. SuritaBotha says:

    I would’ve preferred to wait until she was 21! LOL!

  11. SuritaBotha says:

    Wow that is impressive doing it yourself! I’m too much of whimp!

Leave a Reply

