I could only laugh!

So I’ve now discovered that husbands actually do have their uses! (LOL)

Yesterday afternoon went something like this.

I tried to water the lawn with the irrigation system, it did not work, OK I suppose it was because I didn’t know which knobs to turn which way. Well I promised Hubby I’ll water the garden so I turned on the hosepipe just to realise that the water is coming out all over the hose pipe and not just at the sprinkler. Yes the dog has bitten the hosepipe full of holes! Well at least a part of the garden is being watered – I just have to place the holes in the hosepipe on the right places.

Then I realised the swimming pool is looking decidedly dirty and dusty! Can a pool look dusty – yes it can there is dust floating on the surface of the water. I switched on the pump – at least I knew where to do that. But nothing was working, not the creepy crawly and not the leave sucky thing on the side of the swimming pool. Openend the hole thingy next to the swimming pool, cleaned out the leaves and reattach the creepy, wait in suspense – nothing, nada, zip. And by now I had two very dirty looking knees and my hand and arm was blue because the water in the swimming pool was so cold.

Then I walked past the fish pond and I realise there is something wrong there as well. There are two ponds and they are supposed to circulate the water between the two ponds. However one pond was almost empty and the other one was overflowing.

So I had to stick my hand into this dirty, green with algea and fish pee and pooh water and try and see if the pump is working. So here I am elbow deep in gunky slimey snotty water with the dog next to me with her two front paws on my back, licking me and Zoe standing next to the trampoline calling me to help her to get up on the trampoline! And then she very innocently asked me if that green stuff that I was hauling out of the fishpond was yucky! Yes my dear child it is yucky but Mommy has to try and get this freaking pond working again.

I looked up at the sky to ask for help and once my nose was that high up in the air, I realised that the macaroni that I was cooking for dinner was burning. I looked down and saw my dirty knees and my filthy arms and the dog looking at me and it looks although she was laughing and I realised that all I can do was laugh.

What else, crying won’t change the situation and I tried the swearing and that did not fix anything! Laughter at least made me feel a bit better, although the swearing helped a little bit as well.

So another night with food that is a disaster and a swimming pool that is not working and a fishpond that is dry and overflowing and a holey hosepipe! Only 3 more sleeps and Hubby can come and fix the whole lot, and I can go and sit in a silent corner and rock for a little while!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I could only laugh!

  1. PurpleDiamond says:

    LOL shame not laughing at you, just the situation!

  2. Sarchasm says:

    LOL Soooo glad us guys can be appreciated, even if only when everything goes wrong. 🙂

  3. Kasc says:

    I’m sorry but I had to have a giggle at this 🙂 I have had the same sort of situation (not quite as bad) when my hubby was away. Makes you realise what they actually do around the house!

  4. bothajs says:

    Sign from the Universe: “Do not try and cook”.

  5. tammyn says:

    LOL oh my word I was giggling so much imagining all this! Sorry! Ai, what would we do without our hubbies… lol

  6. SuritaBotha says:

    Absolutely!!! I’ll try again once Hubby is home

  7. SuritaBotha says:

    That is so true Sarchasm

  8. SuritaBotha says:

    I’m laughing at myself!

  9. SuritaBotha says:

    Yes and I thought he just sits and watches rugby!

  10. SuritaBotha says:

    And he is away again in October! This time I want written instructions with diagrams!

  11. AyDee says:

    *sheepish grin from me *

  12. PurpleDiamond says:

    LOL it’s lekker to laugh at oneself every now and again! 🙂

  13. LinFlin says:

    So they are not totally useless…

Leave a Reply

