Wild Run – aaaarggghhhhh

So it seems although the Wild Run is really going to happen. I’ve been playing ostrich since now. Ignoring the e-mails and updates from the race organisers but it is now time to finally pull my head out of the sand and accept that I’m actually going to do it.

The plane tickets are booked, the transfers are booked. The foil blankets and waterproof bags has been bought. It seems although all we still have to buy is a whistle and a first aid kit. However I don’t think a first aid kit will help for the pain I’m going to experience on that run.

OK so now for a bit of background info on this adventure that I’m embarking on.

It is a 3 day stage event running along the Wild Coast. 3 Days – 112 kilometers. It is basically a marathon each day, on sand and through rivers and over mountains and fighting the sea tides!

I can not wait and I’m scared to death!

I just had a look at the bag that we are given at the beginning of the race for all our stuff. It is tiny, microscopic – and I have to pack everything in there! All my stuff for 3 days of running AND everything I need for after the runs!! Just all the after run stuff – compression pants, recovery shoes and all the recovery drinks will fill up the bag!! How the hell – I suppose if will be a roughing it few days. No GHD, no hairdryer, only elastic bands for the hair and sunscreen!!

Wow what a privilege to do this.

For those interested here is a link to the website: www.wildrun.co.za

And poor old Zoe will have to stay with Grandma for the few days we are away. Although she is already counting the sleeps!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wild Run – aaaarggghhhhh

  1. parent24ed says:

    Wow! That’s impressive, Lotus!

  2. deblet says:

    Wahoo….you go girl.You sound like my crazy sister who also feels the need to run everywhere.good luck and enjoy every moment of the adventure

  3. SuritaBotha says:

    Not impressive – rather MAD

  4. SuritaBotha says:

    Hee hee – runners are strange people!

Leave a Reply

