And the tears are coming

All the strikers are back at work and it is payroll week this week, I have to pay them on Friday to ensure that the money is in their bank accounts on Monday.

And now the reality of the this nice 2 week long “holiday” of dancing and singing has sunk in. Our cleaning lady / tea lady has now been in tears for 2 full days. She does not have any accrued leave and now she is only going to get half her salary this month. And now we have decided that we’ll give her a 10% increase as well because – “shame” – not that she belongs to a union at all but we feel sorry for her. She is the only office employee to get an increase.

The guys in the workshops are all scrambling saying they’ll work all the way through December if they can only take leave now etc etc.

Lots of tears and lots of upset people.

Well you dumb asses you should’ve thought about that before you decided to go on strike! The office workers are not getting a cent in increases and you are all getting 10% but no you are still not happy. Hell you may be the only ones to actually get a salary this month because as always you will come first and the poor suckers in the offices may have to wait for their salaries until somewhere in August.

And the best of all now they all of a sudden wants to come and borrow money because they do not have money for transport or food or need doctors etc.

Make no mistake I feel so sorry for some of these people trying to survive on R4,000 a month but surely R4,000 a month is better than nothing because it is most probably going to happen sooner or later at my company and I’m sure at many more companies who is in dire straits and just can not afford a 10% payroll increase.

Life is expensive and it is tough out there but the economy is in ruins.

Whilst driving around this morning looking for Diesel I started to look around me and all I see is ruin and decay. Potholes, broken street signs, no street names, dirty pavements, striking people and a struggle to get diesel and have reliable electricity etc etc.

I’m really starting to doubt if our decision to come back to SA was the correct one.

And now I’m torn in two by a mother that absolutely loves her grandchild and would fall to pieces if we should leave and the urge to give my child a better life and make sure that I can actually be with her when she is a grown up with children of her own. So I know how my mom would feel if we leave because I can imagine my own feelings if Zoe should leave. What a double edged sword!

Sorry I’m just really angry at everything happen in this country today.

And now there are the rumours about the rental properties and the taxes on it. Surely the cows are going to stop giving any milk if they are being milked dry day after day after day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to And the tears are coming

  1. TheAfricanNewsferret says:

    As always they have no clue as to cause and consequence. Entitlement yes!

  2. shazdart says:

    I am with you all the way on this one. I will never understand how it is ok to strike. The fat cat Union Bosses are not going without, but the workers and their employers must pay the price every time. There has to be a better way of doing things. The urge to renew my British passport is growing by the day. xx

  3. SuritaBotha says:

    And some days I think that we are responsible for that sense of entitlement because since forever have we given more.Just look at the domestics in our houses – they get salaries, clothes, food, transport money etc.

  4. Kasc says:

    I agree. People don’t think about the consequences of their actions.

  5. Helen_77 says:

    I could’ve written this myself. 100% in agreement

  6. MrsRogers says:

    It’s so true. There seems to be a culture in this country that only thinks of today and not what is gonna happen tommorow if I take it all now. Good luck with your decision. My parents and only sibling are also making plans to leave the country but I’m not completly ready to leave yet.

  7. MrsRogers says:

    You are so right!!!

  8. mamasnich says:

    Ai I totally agree with you hey. These people don’t think further than beyond themselves. When the unions say lets strike they think they are getting a holiday where as they aren’t getting paid for it and also the top dogs in the unions are sitting in their offices and still getting paid. Not to mention all this striking has such a horrible effect on our economy. This is really sad. PS, if you need any petrol, on malboro drive at the shell garage you will find some

  9. rebeccav says:

    I also feel I could’ve penned this post! Got an interesting email yesterday about Taxes and Open Road Tolling – it’s been past my inbox before, but yesterday I read it all the way! It reckons for every R10 we earn, we give R6 to the government in taxes (income tax, VAT, fuel tax, etc etc). For what? When everything is in ruin! And now we must pay more for toll roads!Also getting very gatvol, but our folks would also not cope with the grandkids being in a different country! Makes me want to cry!

  10. tammyn says:

    Awesome post!

  11. AyDee says:

    Our beutiful country crippled by toi-toi 😦

  12. PurpleDiamond says:

    With you on this one… all the demands being made but nothing is still ever good enough. The people of this country are being squeezed dry with taxes and still nothing worthy is being done with our tax money either. They want to tax us for getting to work on the highway. They tax us for @#$% everything and live leisurely lives while the rest of us struggle to make it. SA might soon be seeing the back of me.

  13. SuritaBotha says:

    I do think that I would leave if I have the opportunity but Hubby still believes SA is great.

  14. SuritaBotha says:

    Crippled by dancing and singing – ironic hey?

  15. SuritaBotha says:

    If we can only install this mentality into them in some way.

  16. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks New Mommy!

  17. SuritaBotha says:

    I say increase VAT to 20% and at least then everybody is paying!

  18. SuritaBotha says:

    Pity you don’t have a son – I could’ve booked him for Zoe when they grow up! 🙂 Don’t marry for love marry for a passport! LOL

  19. SuritaBotha says:

    You are right Mrs C – the poor renters will carry the brunt of the increases.

  20. SuritaBotha says:

    Heartbreaking to loose all your family because of the problems in a country isn’t it?

  21. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks Mama Snich

Leave a Reply

