Raising a girl

I want her to be strong

I want her to be independant

I want her to be healthy

I want her to be fit

I want her to be happy

I want her to be successful

I want her to know and accept Jesus as her Saviour and Lord

I want her to enjoy life

I want her to love her job

I want her to have adventures

I want her to have a strong moral compass

I want her to know the love of a good man

I want her to know the love for a child and the love from a child

I want her to travel

I want her to have an enquiring mind

I want the whole world for her

I want her to have friends

I want her to be her own best friend and to love herself

But how do I do this?  How do I go about raising a daughter that is strong and fearless?  Do I have to be more mindful about my actions and how I react to things.  Do I have to teach her more deliberately?  It is such an amazing enormous task that I’ve received the day she was born.  And some days I really do feel although I’m failing.  However I don’t want to be teaching her the whole time with little lessons.  Do I teach through the way I live life? 

But how am I living my life?  I hate my job but I’m doing it for a reason – and that reason is 4 years old and is called Zoe.   I’m obsessed with running and I’m addicted to reading.  I eat too much junk food and some days I’m just too lazy to whip up dinner.  I complain about my hair and my fat stomach and my ugly toes.  I complain when she asks me too many why questions but isn’t that the start of an enquiring mind?

Am I doing this parenting thing right?  Will I ever know? 

All I know is that I can see that my child is happy and I suppose that is most important when you are 4 years old.

Dear God hold my hand and help to raise this amazing child in Your way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raising a girl

  1. tammyn says:

    *ditto*!!!*hugs*

  2. SuritaBotha says:

    Thank you Mrs C!

Leave a Reply

