The movement challenge

Yesterday Iron Puff laid down the gauntlet and challenged everybody to start moving.  I want to join her in this movement.

OK I can hear you say that I can not join the movement because I’m already fit and I’m training for Comrades and therefore my movement does not count.

Well let me tell you a little bit of my story to get to Comrades 2010 for the first time.

Yesterday to the day four years ago, I was sitting on the grass at Barnard Stadium in Kempton Park.  My husband and mother was running a 15 kilometer race.  I was overweight, out of shape, stuck with a 18 day old baby and a throbbing cesarean wound.  I was also tottering on the edge of a very very dark abyss called depression. I was also living in a new town that I moved to 4 days before Zoe was born, no friends, no house to call my own and also nobody to help in the house. that I did not have.

At my 6 week visit to the gynae I asked him if I could start to exercise.  His answer was positive and I drove from the gynae office to the gym to enrol myself and Zoe.  Zoe’s picture at the gym still shows a tiny little thing of 6 weeks old.

And that was the start of my journey.  From the beginning Zoe was included in everything.  She went to the gym with me and she loves those ladies at the gym creche and always look forward to going there.  She is used to the pram we use to push her in when we run – she has been in there since she was 4 months old.

OK I admit I am more fortunate than most women.  I only work half day and I have the support of my mother and my husband in all my fitness endeavors.  However they are fitness fanatics as well, my mom runs anything and everything if she has the opportunity and my husband has completed two Comrades races.

We all jump in and each gives the other the opportunity to run and each has the opportunity to be lazy and run with Zoe in the pram or stay at home with Zoe.  And if all else fails we can always rely on our trusty Club Chairman, his wife and 4 daughters to help with the babysitting.

It would’ve been so easy for me to use all types of excuses not to start training and to turn my back on fitness and health and to dive headlong into the dark depresssion abyss but I made a concerted effort not to do it and to rather begin a fitness journey that has peaked in the completion of my first Comrades in 2010.

I’m not saying that everybody should now decide to do the Comrades but the first thing to do is to find something that you like to do.  Not everybody likes running, Puff likes to hike – I would die if I have to face all those heights and snakes!  Somebody else may like to cycle or play squash or play on the Fitness WII. 

Find what you love and then set yourself some modest targets.  Then turn your exercise into a routine.  Do you ever leave the house in the morning without brushing teeth or go to bed without brushing teeth?  I thought so – the answer is no.  And that is how exercise should become – something you have to do, something that you would feel weird about if you do not do it.   

So here is a virtual toast to the Movement challenge.

My update on movement – I ran 15kilometers last night and today I’m so sore that I can barely walk! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The movement challenge

  1. JessieR says:

    Jiggy Dance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!WE.ARE.AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Seriously gf.We are. Hugs to you ne

  2. Deedles says:

    Loving your blog Lotus

  3. SuritaBotha says:

    Thank you Dee-caff

Leave a Reply

