Don’t sell yourself short…

Two friends said to me in the space of one day that I should not sell myself short. 

Do I sell myself short, do I only see the negative in myself and always look for the faults, the bad and the ugly?  And the answer to all of this is a resounding YES. 

Why do we do this to ourselves?  I know I’m not the only female with this horrible problem, most of us at some time or another sell ourselves short.  Some may do it more than others but it is almost although it is a trait that is born or bred into us.

Does it have something to do with the mostly Calvanistic upbringings we had?  Or the strict South African rules and regulations? Or is it a female thing? 

We do not know how to accept compliments, always trying to make light of it instead of just saying thank you and basking in the glory of a lovely compliment.  No we would rather look for the sinister undertones to the compliment or try and find out what the person want.

However when somebody make a relatively innocent remark we can quickly turn it around to be seen as criticism and we would dwell on that imagine slight for years to come.  Even if it was not meant in the way we perceive it at all.

I know it is easy to say that we should change and not do it but how difficult is it to change the behaviour of 36 odd years?  However I’m going to try and stop selling myself short and try and install a sense of self worth in Zoe that can overcome all the negative things that may be thrown towards her in her life as an adult.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t sell yourself short…

  1. JessieR says:

    Seems we channeling similar thoughts ne Lotus. Hugs.

  2. SuritaBotha says:

    I’ll do that Flinnie

  3. SuritaBotha says:

    Ohh dear what to do with ourselves. We are our onw worst enemies!

  4. SuritaBotha says:

    You make me think and then I spout something like this! 🙂

  5. deadpinup says:

    i believe that its a women thing, speaking as a women we do tend to cut ourselves down to the limit, and when we cant no more and other people start realizing it, then its beyond repair.i have been doing this to myself long enough to remember, being negative about everything, blaming myself for things i never do and even taking the blow on the head for being “smart” all you really have to do is speak your mind, thats all

Leave a Reply

