I did it!!!

I did it, I did it! (Doing a crazy little victory dance here)  After 4 months of being really lazy and turning running into a social event and getting all types of excuses to run with the newbies in the club – just not to see if i can still actually RUN, I applied myself last night.

My mom had a serious talk to me about this slow running of me and told me that I’m making myself used to this slowpoke running and that is going to come back and bite me later on because I won’t be able to run fast (well my fast) anymore.  This made me really think a bit.  I managed to scrape into the Comrades finish with 18 minutes to spare.  That is really not a lot of time.  If I get any slower than what I was during Comrades, I’m not going to make Comrades next year.

Do I really want to go through all that hard work and effort and money and neglecting my child just to not get to the finish in time and miss out on the medal and the amazing sense of achievement.

So last night I decided I’m going to test myself and see if I can still actually run my fast.  This was at time trail which is a 4km run.  When they said go I set off like a rabbit and after about 100m’s I realised that I was going way way too fast.  However I decided that I’m not going to give in now and I’m just going to go fast for as long as possible and then walk for a short while and then go fast again.

I did not look at my watch on purpose because I did not want to see my time, I just wanted to get to the finish and then hear my time.  And what wonderful news did they have for me at the finish, I bettered my previous personal best time with 6 seconds!  I know that does not sound like a lot but my confidence in running fast was at such an all time low that this really helped a lot and I’m all fired up to go again.

What is so wonderful about the running community is that everybody came up to me and congratulate me, even though my time was actually crappy and some of the guys there will run at least 8 minutes faster than me on a 4 kilometer.

Well I’m still glowing and now I can go back to being a social runner and the mom running with the pram and chatting and singing with her child for a little bit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I did it!!!

  1. fitnesseditor says:

    That’s so awesome!!! Congratulations! And six seconds IS great, so don’t be so hard on yourself! You’re a wonderful inspiration 🙂

  2. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks FitnessEd – if I can do it anybody can do it! :-)Next target is to take 30 seconds off.

  3. JessieR says:

    Awesome. Congratulations 🙂

  4. SuritaBotha says:

    Thanks Puff!!!

Leave a Reply

